This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Trustees of Maine Higher Education Association to visit UMFK to award local student scholarship

November 7, 2003


The trustees of the Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation, recognizing the importance of education and student difficulty in meeting financial demands, are pleased to announce that on Tuesday, December 9, 2003 a scholarship in the amount of $1,000 will be awarded to Dianne Madore, of Van Buren, a graduate of Sanford High School attending the University of Maine at Fort Kent.

Madore, of Van Buren, is a senior with a double major in business and computer science and maintains a high grade point average. She will be presented the award at a special luncheon held at UMFK with members of the Foundation, UMFK community, St. John Valley legislators, and family members present.

"I am pleased that the Maine Bankers Association provides a scholarship to worthy students," said Brad Ritz, associate professor of business. "Dianne certainly fits the criteria, she's very dynamic and I am confident that she'll contribute significantly to her chosen field and community."

The Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation was established in the 1950's to support a guarantee fund for student loans. The founders included a wide range of banks, businesses, community organizations, and individuals.

In 1990, the MeHEAF trustees, the Maine Bankers Association Board of Directors, seeking to continue the original intent of the founding members, began a scholarship program funded by the return of the original loan guarantee funds.

This year, the MeHEAF trustees have selected 13 Maine colleges and universities to receive scholarships.

The participating school chooses student scholarship recipients who are in their second, third, or fourth year, and are Maine high school graduates majoring in a business related subject. The colleges and universities select the recipients based upon academic standing and financial need.

All scholarships are awarded for second semester expenses.

Since 1990, a total of $176,400 in scholarships has been awarded. In 2003, an additional $13,000 will be awarded to thirteen students.

In addition to UMFK, other schools receiving MeHEAF scholarships this year include the University of Maine at Machias, University of Maine, University of Maine at Farmington, University of Southern Maine, University of Maine at Presque Isle, University of Maine at Augusta, University of Maine Lewiston/Auburn, the University of New England in Biddeford and Westbrook, St. Joseph's College, Husson College, Thomas College, and Southern Maine Community College.

Previous scholarship recipients from the University of Maine at Fort Kent include Laura Deschaine in 2003; Cindy Coulombe in 2001; Michelle Comeau-Dumond in 2000; Jeremy MacArthur in 1999; Leslie Guerrette in 1998; Amanda L'Italian in 1997; Kristy Parent in 1996; Charles Dechene in 1995; Robin Raymond in 1994; James Gagnon in 1993; Mary Rossignol in 1992; Patty O'Leary and Jeanette Beaulieu in 1991; and Joseph Marin and Michael Abbott in 1990.

The Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation is administered by the Maine Bankers Association and is located in Augusta.

Bankers Association President Joseph Pietroski and Chairman Jim Delamater, president and CEO, Northeast Bank, FSB will make the presentation.