This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.


November 1, 2010



UMFK Bengal Women's Volleyball Team: front row) Savannah Kainani Ash, from Walalua, Hawaii; (second row, l to r) Kumiko Chow, from Vancouver, British Columbia; Head Coach Danford Plourde; and Amber Garrison, Oroville, California (third row, l to r) Assistant Coach Sarah Beasley-Johnston,; Monique Lebel, from Limestone, Maine; Quintina Young, from Portland, Maine; Laura Ann Aronson, from Turlock, California; Malisha Caesar, from Cayon, St. Kitts; and Anabell Chang, from Palm Springs, California.



The University of Maine at Fort Kent women's volleyball team won the 2010 Sunrise Conference Championship on Saturday, October 30, defeating the University of Maine at Presque Isle, 3-0 (25-16, 25-20, 25-10) in Presque Isle. It is the Lady Bengal’s first-ever Sunrise Conference title. 

The Lady Bengals finished the season at 13-3, and went undefeated in Sunrise Conference play at 7-0.
Senior co-captains, Kumiko Chow (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada) and Amber Garrison (Oroville, California) led a well-balanced attack in the three-game sweep over cross-county rival, UMPI.  Chow had 11 kills, 19 assists, 10 digs and four service aces and Garrison finished with a match-high 33 digs. 
Sophomore Anabell Chang (Palm Springs, California) added 17 digs and 10 kills and freshman Laura Aronson (Turlock, California) had nine kills and eight digs.  Freshmen Savannah Ash (Waialua, Hawaii) turned in a strong overall performance with 19 assists, six digs, four kills and three service aces. 
Juniors Quintina Young (Portland, Maine) and Maliesha Caesar (Cayon, St. Kitts) held down the middle, up-front, adding six and four kills, respectively. They also applied constant defensive pressure, and challenging the UMPI squad on attacks.
UMFK was honored for its outstanding championship season following the match, as the Sunrise Conference gave out the 2010 season awards. 
Co-captain Kumiko Chow was named Player-of-the-Year, and Savannah Ash was named Rookie-of-the-Year.  Anabell Chang and Amber Garrison joined Chow and Ash on the All-Conference team. First-year Head Coach, Dan Plourde, was named Coach-of-the-Year.  The Lady Bengals also took home the Team Sportsmanship award.