This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK students honored at academic banquet

May 9, 2011




More than 50 awards and scholarships were presented to deserving University of Maine at Fort Kent students at the senior class banquet and awards convocation on Friday, May 6, in the UMFK Sports Center.           

The annual event, held the evening prior to commencement, is designed to honor graduating students for outstanding achievement throughout their years at the University and to award underclassmen who are continuing their education at UMFK, with financial assistance in recognition of their hard work and campus involvement.
The first awards presented were the outstanding senior honors given by the UMFK Student Senate and the University’s Alumni Association. Receiving the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate, was Shanae Jonelle Armstrong (Kingston, Jamaica). 
The UMFK Alumni Association Outstanding Senior Award was presented to Christopher Adam Roy (Fort Kent) and the UMFK Alumni Association Scholarship was presented to Alan Dale McManus (Fort Fairfield).
The Joan T. Sylvain Award, which honors an outstanding education student who is working on a second degree, was presented to Tammy Delaney-Oaks (Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada) and Kelsi Ella Katharyn Leonard (Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada).
Elaine Guimond (Fort Kent) and Hannah Somers (Millinocket) were awarded the Hubert J. Thibodeau Award, which is given to an education student who has a record of good scholastic achievement and shows promise to be an excellent future teacher.
The Teacher Education Award, given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area in education, was presented to Christopher Campbell (Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada) and Jenny Lynn Daigle (Millinocket).
Meghan Kathleen Sullivan (Chicopee, Massachusetts) was named the recipient of the Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities. The Burns Award is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities.            
The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes students who show exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Kelsey Marie Dubois (New Canada).
Anthony Michael Drouin (Turner, Maine) was awarded the Performing Arts Award, which is
given to a student who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions.       
Brittainy Charette (Fort Kent) was honored with the Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically-strong graduating senior, who has either majored or minored in the area of social science.
Bradley Jeffrey Hubert (Fort Kent) was presented the Environmental Studies award for his outstanding achievement and work in his major area of study.
The Mathematics/Science Award, presented to a graduating senior who has completed a major or field in the subject area and has maintained good academic standing, was presented to Shanae Jonelle Armstrong (Kingston, Jamaica) and Charles E. Michaud (St. Agatha).
Allie Madore (Fort Kent) was honored with the Business Management Award for her outstanding work completing the degree program.
For his outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry student Tony L. Collin (Madawaska) was presented with the Forest Technology Award.
Justin LeBourdais (Linwood, Missouri) was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development potential in the computer applications area.
Steven J. Deschaine (Madawaska) received the Criminal Justice Award for his academic achievement and demonstrated active interest in that field.
The top student award in the rural public safety administration program was presented to Thomas M. Pelletier (Eagle Lake).
Two awards were presented to UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Nursing Student Award was presented to Deborah Lynn Daigle (Madawaska) and the Outstanding RN-BSN Student Award was presented to Michelle Beaulieu (Limestone) and Anne P. Sluzenski (Charlotte, Maine).
The Faculty Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to the student with the highest overall grade point average on all undergraduate work, was presented to Deborah Lynn Daigle (Madawaska).
Wayne L. Cyr (Madawaska) earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for his outstanding work toward attaining his two-year degree.
The Dean's Award, which is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average and demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Tracy Dawn Charette (Freeport, Maine). 
Eight students were awarded scholarships from the Associated Faculties of the University of Maine System, Fort Kent chapter:  Charlene Danielle Bartlett (Eagle Lake); Naomi Chasse (Frenchville); Emmaly Susanne Jurson (Hodgdon); Alan Dale McManus (Fort Fairfield); Ashley Morneault (Saco, Maine); Janet Elizabeth Rowles (Fort Kent); Adam Strishak (Paradise, California); and Nina Marie Theriault (Fort Kent Mills).
In addition to awards, students were presented with scholarships at the annual banquet.
Peter Stirling Gagne (Winthrop, Maine) was presented the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.
The Dr. Zui Sun Tao Memorial Scholarship was presented to Samantha Blanchette (New Canada).
Owen James Cunnane (Alfred, Maine) was presented with the John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship.
The Jonathan and Dawn S. Moirs Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kelsey Marie Dubois (New Canada).
Presidential Awards for Academic Excellence, awarded to students who have achieved the Dean's List for seven consecutive semesters at UMFK, were presented to Shanae Jonelle Armstrong (Kingston, Jamaica); Lita Nicole Dionne (Van Buren); Kristen Lee Hebert (Madawaska); Bradley Jeffrey Hubert (Fort Kent); Allie Madore (Fort Kent); and Christopher Adam Roy (Fort Kent).
A final scholarship award, the Haenssler Prize was presented to Shanae Jonelle Armstrong (Kingston, Jamaica).
Dr. Doris Metz, assistant professor in curriculum and instruction, was honored by the senior class with the Outstanding Faculty Award for the 2010 - 2011 academic year.