This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Fifty-Nine UMFK nursing students honored at pinning ceremony

May 9, 2011




Fifty-Nine University of Maine at Fort Kent nursing students received nursing pins, signifying their official entrance into the profession, on Thursday, May 6 at the Fox Auditorium on the UMFK campus.                         

BSN Students who received their nursing pins were: Dara Anderson (Fort Kent); Lee A. Bossie (New Canada); Deborah Cannan (Fort Kent); Chloe Conaway (Portland, Maine); Dean Cote (Fort Kent); Deborah Daigle (Madawaska); Cindy L. Hafford (Allagash); Ashley Lynn Hanmer (South Portland, Maine); Heather Holmquist (Caribou); Kylie Marie Hopkins (Holden, Maine); Ridhartha Soomaroosing Jackson (Bangor, Maine); Kathrine A. Long-Lozier (Winterville); Julie A. Markus (Farmington, Connecticut); Lacey J. Martin (Fort Kent); Lindsey Rae Martin (Madawaska); Stephanie A. Martin (Caribou); Sara Adair Mulvey (Farmington, Maine); Heather Lynn Ouellette (Fort Kent); Steven Parady (Fort Fairfield, Maine); Mack Perry ( Easton, Maine); Darsey Plourde (New Sweden); Amy T. Ricciardi (Eagle Lake); Myrna Rae Ridenour (West Glazier, Montana); Tyler J. Stoliker (Madawaska); Leah Marie Sturzl (Caribou) Ronald G. Tardif (St. David); Julia J. Violette (Madawaska); Jared Patrick Walker (Cornville, Maine); and Tara Lynn Waltz (Whitefield, Maine).
RN to BSN students who received their nursing pins were: Michelle Beaulieu (Limestone); Jillian Bolduc (Belgrade, Maine); Autumn Corbin (Searsport, Maine); Denise Cummings (Fairfield, Maine); April Daigle (Hancock, Maine); Rebecca Dillingham (Skowhegan, Maine);Jennifer Michelle Edwards (Brooklyn, New York); Colleen P. Folsom (Houlton); Becky Ford (Presque Isle); Sylvia Kay Garey (Perham); Melissa Marie Gerry (Detroit, Maine); Shea J. Gilbert (Norridgewock, Maine); Lynn Michelle Gorham (Cornish, Maine); Helen Elizabeth Hoover (Eddington, Maine); Tracey Mae Martin (Livermore, Maine); Heather L. Michaud (Caribou); Kathleen D.  Michaud (Perham); Melodie L. Needham (Dover Foxcroft, Maine); Marybeth L. Newman (Baring Pit, Maine); Penelope L. Odell (Littleton, New Hampshire);  Carol Elizabeth Pearl (Plymouth, Maine); Carol Victoria Schmidt Higley (Damariscotta, Maine); Janice E. Scott (Presque Isle);  Amanda Traci Sklar (New York, New York); Anne P. Sluzenski (Charlotte, Maine); Janice Small (Exeter, Maine); Carmen Jean Van Dusen (Owls Head, Maine); Kellie Lyn Ward (Waterville, Maine); Gail Marie Veilleux (Oakland, Maine); and Rita Zbylut (Caribou).
Faculty, staff, and students, along with family members, and friends of the graduates gathered to honor the recipients of the Bachelor of Science degree in nursing. University President Wilson G. Hess welcomed attendees and extended congratulations to the students.
The address to the senior class was delivered by Tyler Stoliker. The theme for the pinning ceremony was "Nurses: Trusted to Care."
The keynote speaker for the pinning ceremony was John Pelletier, BA, MA, adjunct faculty at UMFK.
Additionally, the Division of Nursing recognized a member of the community who has been a staunch supporter of professional nursing, and of BSN education, particularly within the St. John Valley.  Keynote speaker, John Pelletier, from Van Buren, Maine was honored with the Community Leader Award.
“John Pelletier is a community leader who is now using his talents to develop and deliver our new degree in health care administration. I know that John will teach our students how to manage and utilize our limited health care funds while advocating for the patients in the system and while creating a safe and pleasant workplace.” noted Diana White, RN, MS, assistant professor of mental health nursing at UMFK.
John also is a leader in his community, at St. Peter Chanel Parish, and as a school board member in Van Buren. 
John Pelletier does not do anything that he does not do well. John is rightly proud of what he accomplished at Borderview in Van Buren and more broadly in the Maine health care system.
The Division of Nursing also honors an alumna or alumnus during the pinning ceremony. The Distinguished Nursing Alumni Award is bestowed upon a nursing graduate of the UMFK Bachelor of Science in Nursing program who displays accomplishment in the nursing profession, as well as a commitment to his/her community through volunteer service and humanitarian efforts. This year, the Nurse Alumni Award was presented to Daryl Boucher. 
Daryl Boucher is a gentleman from the Valley who began his career at UMFK in 1988 and a  graduate of the class of 1992. 
Boucher, from Presque Isle, is best known for his dedicated service as an exemplary nursing instructor at Northern Maine Community College (NMCC) and in helping to build nursing capacity for Aroostook County.  He has received many awards, such as the NMCC President’s Award,  the Maine Council of Associate Degree Nursing Programs (Educator of the Year); MNCC Instructor of the Year Award; St. Joseph’s College Distance Education Instructor Award, to name a few.
Boucher’s contributions to the community in emergency management services, emergency and nursing education was seen through serving a local dispatcher for the Fort Kent Police Department; a paramedic, a staff member, and critical care flight nurse at The Aroostook Medical Center; a member and medical rescue volunteer leader for the Maine Winter Sports Center; a first-responder to one of his students suffering of a heart attack, and a volunteer for Special Olympics.  He also is currently pursuing a doctoral degree at Capella University School of Education in Educational Leadership & Management with an anticipated date of completion in the spring of 2012.
During the ceremony, Dean P. Cote, from Fort Kent, was honored with the Student Nurse Citizenship Award. The award honors the diligence, manners, responsibility, conscientiousness, and thoughtful involvement characteristic of an exemplary citizen. 
Cote enrolled at UMFK as a nontraditional student, this graduate quickly learned he had an aptitude for the sciences and helped fellow classmates with tutoring and words of encouragement. He served as a spokesperson for his classmates as a curriculum committee representative; volunteered hours in the summer to help the nursing faculty with various projects including the summer camp for high school students and teaching accelerated students basic lab skills; assisted the campus in the purchase of an automated external defibrillator, which is now kept outside of the student lounge, in the event that a person collapses on campus.
Cote is a motivated and goal-directed person, focused and extremely well-organized; reflective, thoughtful, polite, gentle, and never seeks to have the spotlight cast on himself. 
Erin Soucy, MSN, RN, director of UMFK Nursing Division added, “It’s because of people like Dean Cote that organizations and communities thrive. Graduation simply means his workplace, his neighborhood, and his community will gain from his strong sense of fairness, compassion, and determination. He will respond gracefully and conscientiously to resolve community challenges, and will do so by working democratically to bridge differences and to bring others together.”
Also included during the ceremony, recognition of hospitals and preceptors was presented by Diana White. Tanya Sleeper, MSN, MSB, RN, UMFK assistant professor of adult health nursing, brought the evening to a close.