This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK students honored at academic banquet

May 9, 2003


More than thirty awards and scholarships were presented to deserving University of Maine at Fort Kent students, at the senior class banquet and awards convocation, on May 9, in the UMFK SportsCenter.

The annual event, held the evening prior to commencement, is designed to honor graduating students for outstanding achievement throughout their years at the university, and to award underclassmen, continuing their education at UMFK, with financial assistance in recognition of hard work and campus involvement.

The first two awards presented were the outstanding senior honors given by the UMFK Student Senate and the University's Alumni Association. Receiving the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate, was Joy Gervais a behavioral science major from Madawaska. The alumni outstanding senior award was presented to rural public safety administration program student Andrew Marquis of Frenchville.

Candice Caron of Fort Kent was awarded the Hubert J. Thibodeau Award, which is given to an education student who has a record of good scholastic achievement and shows promise to be an excellent future teacher.

The Joan T. Sylvain Award, which honors an outstanding education student who is working on a second degree, was presented to Julli Murphy of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

The Teacher Education Award, which is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of education was presented to Chad Bell of Caribou.

Rebecca Flanagan, of Milo, who graduates with a bachelor of arts degree in English, was named the recipient of the Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities. The Burns Award is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities.

Melanie Plourde, a behavioral science major from Fort Kent was named the recipient of the Grindle Award, which is presented annually to a student who shows great promise in the area of social sciences.

An award presented for academic excellence and expected future contributions in French bilingual studies was presented to Heather Frost, a French major and member of the class of 2003 from Sacramento, California.

The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes students who show exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Brett Labbe of Eagle Lake, who earned a bachelor of science in behavioral science.

Joy Gervais of Madawaska was awarded the performing arts award, which is given to a student who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions.

The Society of Alpha Chi Award, given to a student who has been a member of the campus Alpha Chi chapter and who has demonstrated exemplary service to the organization, was awarded to Amy Roy, a behavioral science major from Fort Kent.

Linda Blair-Gonzalez of Quimby, who has a double major in behavioral science and English was honored with the Behavioral Science Award. The honor is given to an academically strong graduating senior, who has either major or minored in the area of social science.

Brad Ouellette of St. Agatha, who is continuing his studies in the rural public safety administration program, received the Criminal Justice Award for his academic achievement and demonstrated active interest in the field.

For his outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry student Ronald J. Brown of Van Buren, was awarded the Associate in Forest Technology Award.

The Mathematics/Science Award, presented to a graduating senior who has completed a major or field in the subject area, and has maintained good academic standing, was presented to Jeremy Ray of Waddy, Kentucky, who majored in both environmental studies and biology.

Robert Connor of Fort Kent was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development in the computer applications area.

Jay Lee, a business major from Madawaska, was honored with the Business Management Award for outstanding work completing the business major.

The Freshman Chemistry Award, presented to students who have completed both Chemistry I and Chemistry II courses, and earned high grades in both classes, was awarded to two environmental studies majors. Priyanka Pisharoti of Ahmedabad, India and Lisa Weiss of Bellows Falls, Vermont, were named co-recipients of the honor.

Heather Bard of Wallagrass and Jeremy Ray of Waddy, Kentucky, both environmental studies majors, were named the recipients of the Environmental Studies Award for their outstanding work in their major area of study.

Two awards were presented to three UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Nursing Student Award was presented to two students, Jennifer Hay and Heidi Roy, both of Presque Isle. The Outstanding RN-BSN Student Award was presented to Stella Dion from Dresden, Maine.

The Faculty Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to students with the highest overall grade point average on all undergraduate work, was presented to Heather Frost of Sacramento, California and Stephanie Boucher a business major from New Canada.

Jason Nicolas of Fort Kent earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for outstanding work toward attaining his two-year forestry degree.

The Dean's Award, which is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average and demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Stephanie Boucher of New Canada.

Presidential Awards for Academic Excellence, awarded to students who have achieved the Dean's List for seven consecutive semesters at UMFK, were presented to Stephanie Boucher of New Canada; Kelly Caron, a social science major from Fort Kent Mills; Robert Connor of Fort Kent; Laura Deschaine, a bachelor of university studies major from Madawaska; Denise Dumond, a behavioral science and bachelor of university studies major from Fort Kent; Rebecca Flanagan of Milo; Erin Labonte, a social science major from Wallagrass; and Jeremy Ray of Waddy, Kentucky.

In addition to awards, eleven students were presented with scholarships at the annual banquet.

The UMFK Alumni Association presented their scholarship to Craig Caron of Fort Kent, who is continuing his education at the university in the forestry program. Caron was also named the recipient of the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.

Dianne Madore, a computer applications and bachelor of university studies student from Van Buren; Sarrah Morris, a nursing major from Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland; and Sharon Voisine of Fort Kent; were each awarded scholarships from the Associated Faculties of the University of Maine System, Fort Kent Chapter.

Other scholarship recipients include, Clifton Foster, Fort Kent, Waneta T. Blake Scholarship; Sarah Jo Smith, Fort Kent Mills and Terry Thibodeau, Fort Kent, Floyd "Red" Powell Scholarship; and Nicholas Textor, Frenchville, John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship.

The Dr. Zui Sun Tao Memorial Scholarship was presented to Erin Voisine of Fort Kent, and the Jonathan and Dawn S. Moirs Scholarship was awarded to Melanie Berube of Edmundston, New Bruswick and Shelley Dupuis of Baker Brook, New Brunswick.

A final scholarship award, the Haenssler Fellowship was presented to Deborah Daigle of Fort Kent.

Aside from students, a UMFK faculty member was honored by the senior class with the Outstanding Faculty Award. Kim Borges-Therien, assistant professor of environmental studies was named the recipient for the academic year.