This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK students honored at academic banquet

May 7, 2004


More than thirty awards and scholarships were presented to deserving University of Maine at Fort Kent students, at the senior class banquet and awards convocation, on May 7, in the UMFK SportsCenter.

The annual event, held the evening prior to commencement, is designed to honor graduating students for outstanding achievement throughout their years at the university, and to award underclassmen, continuing their education at UMFK, with financial assistance in recognition of hard work and campus involvement.

The first two awards presented were the outstanding senior honors given by the UMFK Student Senate and the University's Alumni Association. Receiving the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate, was Rohan Beckford a computer science major from Hartford, Connecticut. The alumni outstanding senior award was presented to behavioral science student Angelique Bourgoin of Madawaska.

Rebecca Brown of Sebec was awarded the Hubert J. Thibodeau Award, which is given to an education student who has a record of good scholastic achievement and shows promise to be an excellent future teacher.

The Joan T. Sylvain Award, which honors an outstanding education student who is working on a second degree, was presented to Natalie Fawthrop of Lucasville, Nova Scotia.

The Teacher Education Award, which is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of education was presented to Carlene Levesque of Madawaska.

Maria Monti, of Buenos Aires, Argentina, who graduates with a behavioral science degree, was named the recipient of the Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities. The Burns Award is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities.

Justin Daigle, a computer science major from Eagle Lake was named the recipient of the Grindle Award, which is presented annually to a student who shows great promise in the area of social sciences.

The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes students who show exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Christine Roy of St. Agatha.

Chad Marquis of Fort Kent was awarded the performing arts award, which is given to a student who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions.

The Society of Alpha Chi Award, given to a student who has been a member of the campus Alpha Chi chapter and who has demonstrated exemplary service to the organization, was awarded to Terry Thibodeau, a behavioral science major from Fort Kent.

Three students were honored with the Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically strong graduating senior, who has either majored or minored in the area of social science. Maria Monti of Buenos Aires, Argentina; and Steven Romann and Terry Thibodeau, of Fort Kent were the award recipients.

Tammy Connor of Fort Kent, who is continuing her studies in the behavioral studies program, received the Criminal Justice Award for her academic achievement and demonstrated active interest in the field.

For their outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry students Joshua Roy of Frenchville and David Steeves of Stellarton, Nova Scotia, were each awarded the Associate in Forest Technology Award.

The Mathematics/Science Award, presented to a graduating senior who has completed a major or field in the subject area, and has maintained good academic standing, was presented to Caroline Williams of Bar Harbor, a secondary education major with a concentration in math.

Clinton King of Jay was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development in the computer applications area.

Gintaras Lenkutis of Vilnius, Lithuania and Rose Anna MacDonald of Madawaska, both electronic commerce majors, were presented with the outstanding award for achievement in their area of study.

Danielle Hebert, a business major from Madawaska, was honored with the Business Management Award for outstanding work completing the degree program.

The top student award in the rural public safety administration program was presented to Daniel Marquis of Fort Kent.

Two awards were presented to UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Nursing Student Award was presented to Erin Voisine of Fort Kent. The Outstanding RN-BSN Student Award was presented to Kimberly Martin of Stellarton, Nova Scotia.

The Faculty Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to students with the highest overall grade point average on all undergraduate work, was presented to Amy Roy an education major from Fort Kent.

Sharon Voisine of Fort Kent earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for outstanding work toward attaining her two-year degree.

The Dean's Award, which is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average and demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Michelle Ouellette of Fort Kent.

Presidential Awards for Academic Excellence, awarded to students who have achieved the Dean's List for seven consecutive semesters at UMFK, were presented to Danielle Hebert of Madawaska, and Steven Romann, Amy Roy and Terry Thibodeau of Fort Kent.

In addition to awards, eleven students were presented with scholarships at the annual banquet.

The UMFK Alumni Association presented their scholarship to Amy Dowe of Carrolls Corner, Nova Scotia, who is continuing her education at the university in the teacher preparation program.

Charles Collin, a secondary math education student from Frenchville; Nicholas Pelletier, a forestry student from Eagle Lake; and Anup Sharma, a business major from New Dehli, India; were each awarded scholarships from the Associated Faculties of the University of Maine System, Fort Kent Chapter.

Other scholarship recipients include, Clifton Foster, Fort Kent, Waneta T. Blake Scholarship; Jessica Gagnon, Fort Kent, Floyd "Red" Powell Scholarship; and Jeffrey Ouellette of Caribou and Ryan Worster of West Enfield, the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.

The Dr. Zui Sun Tao Memorial Scholarship was presented to Shelly Blier of Fort Kent, and the Jonathan and Dawn S. Moirs Scholarship was awarded to Noelle Daigle of St. Francis.

A final scholarship award, the Haenssler Fellowship was presented to Keith Grant of East Swanzey, New Hampshire.

Aside from students, a UMFK faculty member was honored by the senior class with the Outstanding Faculty Award. John Elliott, professor of mathematics was named the recipient for the academic year.