This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Alumni Association to hold special meeting

May 30, 2003


The University of Maine at Fort Kent Alumni Association will hold a special meeting on Tuesday, June 10, at 1:00 p.m. in the Grindle Conference Room in Cyr Hall to vote on changes to the association's organizational by-laws.

The by-law changes will allow the organization to restructure to better serve campus alumni and the university community. In addition, the association board will elect new directors and officers for the coming year.

Specifically, the association board is proposing that the alumni transfer their funds to a UMFK Foundation account to establish a permanent scholarship fund that would be awarded annually.

Board members are also advocating for the addition of two additional seats on the current ten-member association board.

The special meeting will be followed by a regular meeting of the UMFK Alumni Association board of directors.

Current UMFK Alumni Association officers are, Lloyd Soucy of Fort Kent, president, Norman Fournier of Wallagrass, vice president, Ann Caron of Fort Kent, treasurer, Patricia Dow of Fort Kent, secretary and directors, Burnette Bowker, Sandra Dubois, Venette King, Emery "Legs" Labbe, Cindy Guy of Fort Kent and Mel Labbe of Madawaska.

Both sessions are open to the public. For more information, contact Jason Parent, director of university relations and alumni affairs at 834-7557.