This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

43 UMFK nursing students honored at pinning ceremony

May 28, 2009



Photo contributed by: A Moment in Time Photography by Judy


Forty-three University of Maine at Fort Kent nursing students received their nursing pins, signifying their official entrance into the profession, on Thursday, May 8 at the Fox Auditorium on the UMFK campus.  

Students from the St. John Valley who received their nursing pins were: Rebecca Lee Arbour (Fort Kent); Michelle L. Caron (Fort Kent); Kylie Daigle RN (Madawaska); Angel Leigh Doustou (Fort Kent); Stephanie Rene Drake (Fort Kent) Sarah Louise Dubay (Fort Kent); Danielle T. Dubois (Fort Kent); Trisha Marie Hartt Caron RN (Fort Kent); Jodi Leigh Kelly (Fort Kent); Trudy Jane Landeen (Fort Kent); Joanne Nelson RN, BSN (Fort Kent); Ashley Lynn Pelletier (Fort Kent) and Stacy M. Raymond (Fort Kent).  

Students from Aroostook County who received their nursing pins were: Lori A. Barclay RN (Ashland); Kerry Berube (Presque Isle); Stephanie Marie Corriveau (Caribou); Heather Jean Curran (Caribou); Kassandra R. Dominique RN, BSN (Blaine); Pamela Harpine RN, BSN (Stockholm); and Kylie Thibodeau (Woodland).   

Students from downstate who received their nursing pins were: Judith Barufaldi RN (New Harbor); Ilmi Kangas Carter RN, BSN (Rockland); Jennifer Marie Cormier (Waterville); Emily Elizabeth Cote (Saco); Gail A. Dudley RN, BSN (Augusta); Kellie A. Gerrard (Whitefield); Melissa Gilbert RN (Waterville); Katherine C. James (Millinocket); Anna Keller RN, BSN (Augusta); Gail Labbe RN(Winslow); Tiffany Lowelle Melgard RN (Washington); Stephanie A. Mitchell RN, BSN (Tenants Harbor); Bonnie Morris-Hardman RN (Alna); Hana Pelletier (Belgrade); Polly Pelletier (Belgrade); Shelly Lynn Roope RN,BSN (Brewer); Lisa Ann-Marie Smith RN, BSN (Augusta) Danielle Sprague (Lewiston).   

Students from other states were: Peter E. Jordan RN (Pompano Beach, Florida) and Chandra Monique St. John RN, BSN (Fletcher, North Carolina).  

Students from Canada who received their nursing pins were: Ciaran J. Baker (Creston, Newfoundland); Kimberly Joy Cooper RN, BSN (Odell, New Brunswick) and Julie D. Weeks RN, BSN (Woodstock, New Brunswick).           

Faculty, staff, and students, along with family members, and friends of the graduates gathered to honor the recipients of the Bachelor of Science degree in nursing. University President Dr. Richard W. Cost welcomed attendees and extended congratulations to the students.  

The address to the senior class was done by Tiffany Melgard and Trisha Caron. The theme for the pinning ceremony was "Nurses Building a Healthy America."  

The keynote speaker for the pinning ceremony was Bunny Pounds.  She currently works for the Sebasticook Regional Family Care/Sebasticook Valley Hospital in Pittsfield, Maine as a Family Nurse Practitioner.  Her previous experience most notably includes working at the University of Maine at Fort Kent as an Assistant Professor of Nursing from September of 2007 to August of 2008, Lecturer of Pediatric Nursing and Adult Health labs from September of 2006 to September of 2007, and as an adjunct nursing instructor from January of 2006 to May of 2006.   

Recognition of hospitals and preceptors was presented by Diana White, assistant professor of mental health nursing. 

During the ceremony, Emily Cote from Saco, Maine was honored with the Student Nurse Citizenship Award. The award honors the diligence, manners, responsibility, conscientiousness, and thoughtful involvement characteristic of an exemplary citizen.   

The Division of Nursing also honors an alumna or alumnus during the pinning ceremony. This year, the Nurse Alumna Award was presented to Joanne O’Leary.  O’Leary graduated from UMFK nursing program in 1996. She currently works at Northern Maine Medical Center mostly in the Intensive Care Unit, but maintains competency in the Obstetric, Medical/Surgical, and Post Anesthesia Care Units. 

Additionally, the Division of Nursing recognized a member of the community who has been a staunch supporter of professional nursing, and of BSN education, particularly within the St. John Valley.  Alain Bois from Fort Kent was honored with the Community Leader Award. Bois currently is the director of nursing at Forest Hill.                                                                    #####