This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK students honored at academic banquet

May 21, 2012




Thirty-five awards and fourteen scholarships were presented to deserving University of Maine at Fort Kent students at the senior class banquet and awards convocation on Friday, May 11 in the UMFK Sports Center.

The annual event, held the evening prior to commencement, is designed to honor graduating students for outstanding achievement throughout their years at the University and to award underclassmen, who are continuing their education at UMFK, with financial assistance in recognition of their hard work and campus involvement.

The first awards presented were the outstanding senior honors given by the UMFK Student Senate and the University's Alumni Association. Receiving the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate, was Stephanie Chick (Lisbon, Maine). The UMFK Alumni Association Outstanding Senior Award was presented to Stephanie Chick and the UMFK Alumni Association Scholarship was presented to Dyana Lynn Gallant (Medway, Maine).

The Joan T. Sylvain Award, which honors outstanding education students, who were working on a second degree, was presented to Catherine Marie MacLellan (Valley, Nova Scotia) and Sadi J. Rioux (Fort Kent, Maine).

Aimee Danielle Daigle (Fort Kent Mills, Maine) and Chantal Elise Morin (Frenchville, Maine) were awarded the Hubert J. Thibodeau Award, which is given to education students, who has a record of good scholastic achievement and shows promise to be an excellent future teacher.

The Teacher Education Award, given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area in education, was presented to Tasha M. Shouse (Frenchville).

The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes a student who shows exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Danielle Marie Jacobson (Bangor, Maine).

Pablo Llamas Fernandez (León, Spain) was named the recipient of the Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities. The award is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities degree program.

Robert T. Mooney (Durham, Maine) was awarded the Performing Arts Award, which is given to a student, who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions.

Robert Clyne Brown III (Benard, Maine) was named the recipient of the Grindle Award, which is presented annually to a student who shows great promise in the area of the social sciences.

Kristin Grace Theriault (DSL De Drummond, New Brunswick) was honored with the Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically-strong graduating senior, who has either majored or minored in the behavioral sciences program.

Stephanie Chick and Owen James Cunnane (Alfred, Maine) were presented the Environmental Studies Award for their outstanding achievement and work in their major area of study.

Phillip T. Dubois (New Canada, Maine) and Kristen Elise Vaillancourt (Van Buren, Maine) were honored with the Business Management Award for their outstanding work completing the degree program.

For his outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry student Steven T. Allen (Patten, Maine) was presented with the Applied Forest Management Award.

Robert T. Mooney was presented with the Electronic Commerce Award for his achievement in the area of electronic commerce.

Seimei Matsusaki (Aki Kochi, Japan) was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development potential in the computer applications field.

Suzanne M. Kohler (Friendship, Maine) was awarded the Information Security Award, for her excellence in the study of information security.

Aaron Michael Marquis (Madawaska, Maine) received the Criminal Justice Award for his academic achievement and demonstrated active in the discipline.

The student award in the Rural Public Safety Administration program was presented to Sarah Lee Plourde (Fort Kent).

Two awards were presented to UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Nursing Student Award was presented to Margaret Marlette Hamilton (Littleton, New Hampshire) and the Outstanding RN-BSN Student Award was presented to Aimee Elizabeth Lash (Friendship, Maine).

The Faculty Academic Achievement Award was presented to Valedictorian Kristin Grace Theriault and Salutatorian Phillip T. Dubois.

Jenna Marie Martin (Madawaska) earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for her outstanding work toward attaining her two-year degree.

The Dean's Award, which is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average and has demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Kristin Grace Theriault.

In addition to awards, students were presented with scholarships at the annual banquet.

Five students were awarded scholarships from the Associated Faculties of the University of Maine System, Fort Kent Chapter: Christina Lynn Beaulieu (Fort Kent); Adam Daniel Bouchard (Fort Kent Mills); Katherine Nicole Crepeau (Biddeford, Maine); Jamie Lee Nadeau (Madawaska); Levi Kane Prosser (Houlton, Maine).

Jean-Luke Brabant (Chapman, Maine) and Maxwell James Petrashune (Dannemora, New York) was presented the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.

The Dr. Zui Sun Tao Memorial Scholarship was presented to Julie Joan Bouchard (Fort Kent).

Joshua Michael Plourde (Anson, Maine) was presented with the John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship.

The Jonathan and Dawn S. Moirs Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Adam Daniel Bouchard (Fort Kent Mills), Alisha Renae Cote (Fort Kent), and Ricky Joseph Pelletier II (Fort Kent).

Presidential Awards for Academic Excellence, awarded to students who have achieved the Dean's List for seven consecutive semesters at UMFK, were presented to Allison R. Charette (Fort Kent); Melissa Laura Davis (East Millinocket, Maine); Phillip T. Dubois; Sean K. Greening (Fort Kent); David J. Planchet (Concord, New Hampshire); Sadi J. Rioux; and Tasha M. Shouse.

A scholarship award, the Haenssler Prize was presented to Shawn Michael Deprey (Eagle Lake, Maine).

Dr. Doris Metz, assistant professor in curriculum and instruction, and Dr. Jenny Radsma, professor of nursing, were honored by the senior class with the Outstanding Faculty Award for the 2011-2012 academic year.

The senior class honored Theresa Roode, building and grounds maintenance worker, with the Outstanding Staff Award.