This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK honors faculty and staff for dedicated years of service

May 16, 2003


The University of Maine at Fort Kent honored members of its faculty and staff, who have reached milestones of service to the campus community, at a luncheon in Nowland Hall.

Employees who have been at UMFK for thirty-five, twenty-five, twenty, fifteen, ten, and five years were presented with special awards at the annual recognition event.

Campus President Richard Cost, presented the honors following touching and humorous tributes paid to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.

Honored at the ceremony for thirty-five years of service was Roger Paradis, professor of history.

Three employees were recognized for twenty-five years of service. They were Pat Whitworth, administrative assistant, Diane Nadeau-Saucier, executive director for corporate relations; and John Elliott, professor of mathematics.

Twenty-year service awards were presented to James Killarney, professor of psychology and education, and Richard Dinsmore, associate professor of European history.

Tamara Mitchell, director of human resources, affirmative action and business services, and Vernon Potvin, security guard and painter were each awarded fifteen-year service awards.

Ten-year service honorees included Lena Michaud, administrative assistant; John Murphy, vice president for administration; Leslie Kelly, assistant director of the library; Roger Roy, assistant professor of mathematics and business; George Diaz, director of academic and counseling services; and Robert Weyeneth, mechanical trades supervisor.

Five-year award recipients were Melvin Belanger, carpenter; Jason Parent, director of university relations/alumni affairs; Don Ouellette, distance education and audiovisual technician; Mariella Squire, assistant professor of anthropology and sociology; Bruno Hicks, assistant professor of education; and Jocelyne Schael, associate professor of education.

Wendy Kindred, professor of art, who retired during the past academic year, after twenty-nine years of teaching at the University, was also recognized and presented a chair for her years of dedicated service.

Recognition was also given to Aroostook County Retired and Senior Volunteer Program volunteers Lorene Hackett and Fernande Berube, both of Fort Kent, who donate their time to the University in a number of capacities.