This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK employees recognized for years of dedicated service

May 15, 2008


The University of Maine at Fort Kent honored 22 members of its faculty and staff for their service to the campus community at a recent campus luncheon. Special awards were given to employees who have been at UMFK for five, ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty-five, thirty years and forty years of service.  

President Dr. Richard W. Cost presented the honors following touching and humorous tributes to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.  

Two University's employees have retired and were also recognized: Charles Closser, Jr. after 33 years of service and Sharon Johnson, after 20 years of service.                                                                                          

A forty years service award was presented to Roger Paradis, professor of history.            

Patricia Whitworth, administrative assistant I was recognized for thirty years of service.              

Twenty-five years of service honorees were James Killarney, professor of  psychology and education and Marcine Selva, natural sciences lab manager.             

Tamara Mitchell, executive director of human resources and affirmative action and Vernon Potvin, Security Guard II and Painter were recognized for twenty years of service.            

Fifteen years service awards were presented to Leslie Kelly, director of information services; Lena Michaud, director of academic counseling & services; John Murphy, vice president for administration; Roger Roy, associate professor of mathematics & businessRobert Weyeneth, mechanical trades supervisor.                                           

Ten years service awards were presented to Melvin Belanger, carpenter; Bruno Hicks, chair of education division and assistant professor of education and environmental studies;  Donald Ouellette, distance education technician II and audiovisual technician III; and Mariella Squire, associate professor of anthropology and sociology.            

Individuals receiving an award for five years of service were Joseph Becker, assistantprofessor of English; Jill Cairns, director of admissions; Ellen Cost, director of financial aid,  Joseph Zubrick, associate professor of  theater & oral Communications and Stephen Hansen, associate professor of biology & environmental studies.