This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK employees recognized for years of dedicated service

May 13, 2010



Dr. Rachel E. Albert, vice president and UMFK President Dr. Richard W. Cost at the UMFK employee recognition event that was held on May 12 in the Bengal's Lair. Dr. Richard Cost will be retiring at the end of June. 


The University of Maine at Fort Kent honored 36 members of its faculty and staff for their service to the University at a recent ceremony on campus. Special awards were given to employees who have been at UMFK for ten, fifteen,  twenty, twenty-five, thirty, and thirty-five years of service.

President Dr. Richard W. Cost presented the honors following touching and humorous tributes to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.
Thirty-five service awards were presented to Brenda Plourde, administrative assistant I for the admissions office and to Registrar Don Raymond.
Lucy Beaulieu, bookstore supervisor; Lena Corriveau, administrative assistant I for office for the financial aid office; Darlene Martin, administrative assistant I for student teaching; John Martin, assistant professor of political science and executive assistant to the president; Donald Michaud, building and grounds maintenance worker; Professor Dr. Terry L. Murphy and Jeanita Theriault, accounting coordinator was recognized for thirty years of service. 
Twenty-five years of service honoree was Linda Deprey administrative assistant II for gifts and special events.
Peter Cyr, information technology system support specialist and Lisa Lavoie, administrative assistant I for the natural and behavioral sciences division were recognized for twenty years of service.
Fifteen years of service honorees were Lisa Fournier, administrative assistant II for financial services and Scott Voisine, dean of students.
Recognition for ten years of service to Kimberly Borges-Therien, associate professor of environmental studies; Jean Louis Michaud, building and grounds maintenance worker;
Louise Pelletier, administrative assistant I for the arts and humanities / education divisions; Lynn Tardif, records technician I for the Registrar’s office; and Eric Werntgen, assistant athletic director and head men’s basketball coach.
Asita Albert, library assistant II for cataloging and acquisitions; Tammy Connor, secretary for Student Support Services; Trisha Connor, switchboard operator and mailroom clerk; Priscilla Daigle, director of student teaching; Debra Durkin, library assistant II for circulation; Dr. Thomas “Tony” Enerva, assistant professor of public safety administration and criminal justice; Catherine Fecinta, student success coordinator; Paul Gebhardt, assistant professor of art and art education; Leslie Nichols, director of business systems; Susan Tardie, administrative assistant I for the Alumni Affairs and University Relations office, and Leo Trudel, assistant professor of business, all were recognized for five years of service.
In addition to honoring employees, a special thank you was given to retiring Professor Gilbert Albert, Marion “Penny” Albert, assistant professor of education; Richard Bouchard, director of facilities management; Dr. Richard W. Cost, president; Dorothy Hopkins, writing specialist for Student Services; and Camille Theriault, building and grounds maintenance crew leader.