This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK campus community honors a combined 470 years of dedicated service

May 13, 2005



UMFK Retirees John Elliott and Marcy Perreault

The University of Maine at Fort Kent campus community came together recently to honor a combined 470 years of dedicated service by members of its faculty and staff, who have reached milestones of service.

A total of 29 employees, who have been at UMFK thirty, twenty-five, twenty, fifteen, ten and five years were presented with special awards at the annual recognition event.

Two retirees were also honored for their distinguished service to the university community.

UMFK President Richard Cost, presented the honors following touching and humorous tributes paid to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.

The celebration began with a tribute to two of the University's most beloved employees who are retiring this year. Long-time professor of mathematics John Elliott and Marcy Perreault, who has worked for UMFK's dining services for 15-years, were both praised and presented with an official UMFK chair.

Thirty year service awards were presented to Charles E. Closser, Jr., professor of oral communications and performing arts; Donald R. Raymond, registrar and director of institutional research; and Brenda Fournier-Plourde, administrative assistant in the admissions office.

Twenty-five year service honorees included Terry L. Murphy, professor of education; Jeanita M. Theriault, accounting coordinator; Darlene Martin, administrative assistant in student teaching; M. Lucy Beaulieu, bookstore floor supervisor; John L. Martin, assistant professor of political science and executive assistant to the president; Donald Michaud and Michael D. Dubois, building and grounds maintenance workers and Lena J. Corriveau, administrative assistant for student financial aid office.

Linda M. Deprey, administrative assistant for gifts and special events, was the sole honoree recognized for twenty years of service.

Fifteen year service awards were presented to Lisa M. Lavoie, administrative assistant in the natural and behavioral sciences department and Peter P. Cyr, minicomputer system coordinator.

Ten-year service honorees included Scott A. Voisine, director of student services; Stephanie J. Bresett, library assistant II and Lisa A. Fournier, administrative assistant in the administrative services office.

Five-year award recipients were Jean-Louis Michaud and Norma A. Jackson, building and grounds maintenance workers; Gilbert J. Albert and Marion Albert, assistant professors of education; Lisa A. Theriault, assistant professor of nursing; Kimberly Borges-Therien, assistant professor of environmental studies; Geraldine Robinson, administrative assistant in human resources; Lynn M. Tardif, records technician in the registrar's office; Stephanie A. Cote, assistant director of student programming and residential life; Eric W. Werntgen, assistant athletic director and head men's basketball coach; Louise M. Pelletier, administrative assistant for arts and humanities/education division and Donald K.Eno, coordinator of distance education and academic outreach.