This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK students honored at academic banquet

May 12, 2006


Fort Kent- More than thirty awards and scholarships were presented to deserving University of Maine at Fort Kent students at the senior class banquet and awards convocation, on May 12, in the UMFK Sports Center.

The annual event, held the evening prior to commencement, is designed to honor graduating students for outstanding achievement throughout their years at the university, and to award underclassmen, continuing their education at UMFK, with financial assistance in recognition of hard work and campus involvement.

The first awards presented were the outstanding senior honors given by the UMFK Student Senate and the University Alumni Association. Receiving the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate, was Anup Sharma, a bachelor of science in business management degree from New Delhi, India and Nicolas B. Thibodeau, a bachelor of science degree in computer applications from St. Francis. The alumni association outstanding senior award was presented to a bachelor of science in public safety administration, Adam James Morrow from Hampden, Maine.

The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes students who show exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Caralynne Daigle of St. Francis.

The Joan T. Sylvain Award, which honors an outstanding education student who is working on a second degree, was presented to Eric Daigle from Edmundston, New Brunswick and Jasmine Légere from Dieppe, New Brunswick.

Elisabeth Mariann AbiDaoud from Timberlea, Nova Scotia was awarded the Hubert J. Thibodeau Award, which is given to an education student who has record of good scholastic achievement and shows promise to be an excellent future teacher.

The Teacher Education Award, which is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area in education, were presented to Whitney Anne Bouchard of Madawaska and Heather Faye Stevens of Fort Kent.

Polly Pelletier from Belgrade, Maine was named the recipient of the Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities. The Burns Award is given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities. Stephen Duane Dean, Jr. from Milo, Maine was named the recipient of the Grindle Award, which is presented annually to a student who shows great promise in the area of social sciences. John N. Blanchette of New Sweden was awarded the performing arts award, which is given to a student who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions. The Freshman Chemistry Award, presented to students who have completed both Chemistry I and Chemistry II courses and earned high grades in both classes, was awarded to William Nicholas Horner from Whitefield, Maine. Jenny Lynn Daigle of New Canada was honored with the Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically strong graduating senior, who has either majored or minored in the area of social science. Kara Cherie Jackson from Anaheim, California received the Criminal Justice Award for her academic achievement and demonstrated active interest in the field. For his outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry student Matthew Joseph Deprey of Fort Kent was awarded the Associate in Forest Technology Award. The Mathematics/Science Award, presented to a graduating senior who has completed a major or field in the subject area, and has maintained good academic standing, was presented to Ellen Marie Stohr from Urbana, Illinois, who earned a bachelor of science degree in biology. Chad J. Marquis of Fort Kent and Anup Sharma were honored with the Business Management Award for outstanding work completing the degree program. Romeo Ray Theriault of Fort Kent was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development in the computer applications area. Kristin Ann Belanger of Wallagrass, electronic commerce major, was presented with the outstanding award for achievement in the area of study. The top student award in the rural public safety administration program was presented to Shane Everett Durost of St. Agatha. Two awards were presented to UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Nursing Student Award was presented to Tina M. Caron of Fort Kent and The Outstanding RN-BSN Student Award was presented to Dolores M. Childs from Tampa, Florida. The Faculty Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to the student with the highest overall grade point average on all undergraduate work, was presented to Heather Faye Stevens. Rachel Marie Southworth, from St. Agatha earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for outstanding work toward attaining her two-year degree. The Dean's Award, which is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average and demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Anup Sharma. Three students were awarded scholarships from the Associated Faculties of the University of Maine System, Fort Kent chapter. They were presented to Takefumi Kawahara from Fukuoka, Japan, Lisa M. Lavoie of Fort Kent and Kelly Marie Lougee from Harmony, Maine. In addition to awards, fourteen students were presented with scholarships at the annual banquet. The UMFK Alumni Association presented a scholarship to Dustin B. Nadeau, a bachelor of science major in education from St. Francis. Other scholarship recipients included: Ashley Joleen Raymond of Fort Kent Mills, Waneta T. Blake Scholarship; Rachel Marie Southworth of St. Agatha, Floyd "Red" Powell Scholarship and Jordan Milton Carmichael of Presque Isle, the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship. The John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship was presented to Patrick Earl Emery from Mechanic Falls, Maine. The Dr. Zui Sun Tao Memorial Scholarship was presented to Wendy M. Sirois of Madawaska and the Jonathan and Dawn S. Moirs Scholarship were presented to Jason Stephen Gayne from Skowhegan, Maine and Andrew Lucas Martin of Van Buren. The Professor Richard B. Dinsmore Memorial Scholarship was presented to Stephen Duane Dean, Jr. Presidential Awards for Academic Excellence, awarded to students who have achieved the Dean's List for seven consecutive semesters at UMFK, were presented to Jenny Lynn Daigle, Stephen Duane Dean, Jr., Chad J. Marquis, Anup Sharma and Alicia Soucy of Wallagrass. A final scholarship award, the Haenssler Fellowship was presented to Stephen Duane Dean, Jr. Aside from students, a UMFK faculty member was honored by the senior class with the Outstanding Faculty Award. Stephen Hansen was named the recipient for the academic year.