This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Nursing Honor Society

March 31, 2006


Five current University of Maine at Fort Kent students and two community leaders will be inducted into the UMFK Nursing Honor Society at a special ceremony on Thursday April 13, at 4:30 p.m. in the Nadeau Hall teleconference room on the university campus.

Officially welcomed into the nursing honor society will be: Tina Caron, a senior from Fort Kent; Dawn Clauson an RN, BSN from South Berwick; Ronald Jones, a junior from Woodstook, New Brunswick, Canada; Dora Pelkey a senior from Carlingford, New Brunswick, Canada; Traci Weatherhead a junior from Limestone; Lisa Eno, BSN, FNP with Valley Medical and Odette Lapointe, RN, BSN with Northern Maine Medical Center.

All students have excelled in the four-year bachelor of science in nursing program at UMFK and are very active in campus activities.

The UMFK Nursing Honor Society was formed in the spring of 1998 for the purpose of recognizing and fostering academic excellence and scholarship among students, alumni, and community leaders in nursing.

Students with a grade point average of 3.0 or above, and who represent the attributes of scholarship as defined by Boyer (1990) and Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, are eligible for induction to the Honor Society.

The Honor Society holds two scholarly events each year in an effort to promote nursing scholarship in the St. John Valley and Aroostook County. Participation in the scholarly activities is not limited to members of the honor society.

In addition to the induction, the ceremony will feature a keynote address by inductee Lisa Eno, who will speak about her vast experiences as a nurse.

For more information on the UMFK Nursing Honor Society induction ceremony, contact Diane Gagne at 834-7580.