This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Alumni Association to hold annual meeting June 16

June 3, 2005


The University of Maine at Fort Kent Alumni Association will reflect on both a successful year for the campus community, as well as a positive year of progress for the association, when the organization holds its annual business meeting on Thursday, June 16, at 3:00 p.m. in the Grindle conference room of Cyr Hall on the university campus.

All alumni of the University of Maine at Fort Kent, or any of the five other names the institution has been known as since its founding in 1878, are invited to attend the annual session.

In addition to electing new officers and directors for the year ahead, UMFK Alumni Association board members will reflect on the progress of the past year for both the campus and association.

Alumni have been more active in recent years, and as a result the membership of the alumni association will consider a change to the organization's by-laws to increase the number of seats on the board from twelve to a total of fifteen.

"As our alumni base grows each year with large UMFK graduating classes, and as we expand our advocacy efforts on behalf of the institution, it is critical that we invite more voices to the table," said Alumni Association President Burnette Bowker.

UMFK alumni board members serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

Alumni attending the annual meeting will be asked to elect new members to the board of directors. Cathy Saucier of Fort Kent is being nominated to fill the unexpired term of Lloyd Soucie of Fort Kent. Sandra Dubois of Fort Kent and Ann Roy of Van Buren are seeking re-election to a second term.

Individuals nominated to serve a first three-year term are Tom Scott of Madawaska and Terry Ouellette of St. Agatha.

Retiring from the board this year will be long-serving director Melvin Labbe of Madawaska.

"Mel Labbe has been a tremendous asset to the UMFK Alumni Association. He is a staunch advocate of the institution and has assisted the association in so many ways over the years. His presence on the board will be missed," said Bowker. "I am looking forward to welcoming Tom Scott and Terry Ouellette to the board. Both of these distinguished educators are well-known throughout the St. John Valley as tireless advocates of the respective causes they support."

Along with electing directors, the alumni board will elect their officers for the 2005-2006 year.

Nominated to serve in the position of president is Burnette Bowker; vice president, Tracie Hobbs; treasurer Cathy Saucier; and secretary Pat Dow of Fort Kent.

For more information on the upcoming annual meeting of the UMFK Alumni Association, contact the university relations and alumni affairs office at (207) 834-7557.