This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Foundation awards Scholarships to UMFK students

June 18, 2004


The University of Maine at Fort Kent Foundation has awarded eighteen scholarships to thirteen St. John Valley students, one student from Caribou and one student from Meriden, Connecticut for the 2004-2005 academic year.

Nicki Theriault and Rick Romann of Fort Kent, Caralynne Daigle of St. Francis and Jessica Drake of Eagle Lake were each awarded the Daigle Family Scholarship.

The Daigle Family Scholarship was established in 1993 with gifts from Daigle family members and friends.

The Maxine Gagnon Page Family Scholarship was awarded to Heather Gagnon of Fort Kent.

This scholarship fund was established in 2000 with gifts from the Page family members for Maxine Gagnon Page's 87th birthday. The fund was established in recognition of the contributions and importance of Maxine Gagnon Page to the education and way of life of the children of Eagle Lake and Fort Kent.

Donna Bosse of Madawaska was awarded the Dawn S. Moirs scholarship.

Funds for this award had been established at the University of Maine at Fort Kent in 1994 with a gift from Dawn S. Moirs.

Randy Ouellette, Frederick Lizotte, and Samantha Boutot all of Fort Kent, Jessica Drake of Eagle Lake, Danielle Thibodeau of St. Francis, Benjamin Bouchard of Wallagrass and Jordan Cyr of Caribou were each awarded the John L. Martin Scholarship.

Funding for this award has been provided through donations from numerous people in the State of Maine who recognize the many contributions which John L. Martin made while Speaker of the House for the people of the St. John Valley, Aroostook County and the State of Maine.

Randy Ouellette of Fort Kent, Christopher Bouchard of Fort Kent Mills, and Benjamin Bouchard of Wallagrass were each awarded the Thomas S. Pinkham Scholarship.

This scholarship was established at the University of Maine at Fort Kent in 1983 with gifts from family, friends, business associates, and towns people, honoring the memory of Thomas S. Pinkham's "selfless and unstinting service to the Fort Kent areas and communities in which he lived and worked, and his enthusiastic and positive support of the University of Maine at Fort Kent." It was also established in recognition of his involvement with and support of the Northern Maine lumber industry.

The Dr. Leonide Gerard and Mrs. Georgette Toussaint Scholarship was awarded to Brandon Brady of Meriden, Connecticut.

Funds for this award have been established by Dr. Peter and Mrs. Janet MacLaren Toussaint to honor the memory of Peter's parents. The scholarship provides financial assistance and an opportunity to do voluntary community service.

Abigail Michaud of Madawaska was selected recipient of the UMFK Foundation Scholarship.

This scholarship was established by the University's foundation in 1993 with gifts from friends of UMFK.

The scholarships do not require repayment and will be dispersed in two equal payments for the fall and spring semester. The awards are contingent upon the successful completion of each semester.