This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Foundation elects new board and honors retirees

July 23, 2004


The University of Maine at Fort Kent Foundation recently held their annual meeting at which time they honored retiring members and elected a new slate of officers for the board.

Retiring members from the board include Dr. R. Paul Johnson, Venette King, and Karen Ouellette of Fort Kent, Harold Bouchard of Hampden, John Martin and Glen Saucier of Eagle Lake, Leroy Martin of Fort Kent Mills, Carol Baker of Madawaska, and Susan Pratt of Lewiston.

Elected to a three-year term to the general membership are Paul J. Bouchard, Richard Daigle, Dolores Dumont, and L. Phillip Soucy of Fort Kent, Donald Levesque, David Rossignol, and Edward Plourde of Madawaska, John Page of Connecticut, and Virginia Pinkham of Ashland.

Elected to seats on the Foundation board are Diane Berube, Gary Daigle, Patricia Dow, Bernadette Michaud of Fort Kent, James O'Malley of Old Town, Cleo Ouellette of Frenchville, and Carlton Savage of Eagle Lake. Re-elected to the board are Joanne Fortin, Mark Morneault, E. Randall Pinkham, Robert J. Plourde, Peter J. Sirois, Joan T. Sylvain, and Lucien J. Theriault of Fort Kent, Judy Paradis of Frenchville, and Dr. G. Peter Toussaint of New Canada.

The slate of officers for the board is comprised of Judy Paradis, Frenchville, president, Peter J. Sirois, Fort Kent, vice president, Lucien J. Theriault, Fort Kent, secretary, Dr. G. Peter Toussaint, New Canada, treasurer and Robert J. Plourde, Fort Kent, clerk.

The Foundation was established in 1990 to raise funds to support UMFK initiatives that benefit students and faculty. A rapidly growing campus community coupled with a state budget crunch that is impacting the entire University of Maine System, has made that role more important than ever.