This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Fifth UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame Class Announced

January 31, 2012


The University of Maine at Fort Kent will host its fifth annual Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Ceremony on Saturday, March 24 in the University's Sports Center.

Five individuals, as different from last year's inductees as they are from one another, comprise the fifth class of the Hall of Fame.

Following on the heels of four very successful classes before it, the inductees of the UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2012 is a distinguished group in its own right: Sterling LeBlanc (´69); Guy Cousins (´81 & 83); Paula Martin Zwemke (´89); Beth Daigle King (´90); and Andre Anderson (´11).

Each of the five individuals to be inducted had a big impact on Bengal athletics as an athlete, and has made contributions off the field and court, since.

"UMFK also will recognize the silver anniversary of the 1986-87 record setting men's basketball team. This special team was coached by 2009 UMFK Hall of Famer Larry Murphy ('75) and was led by Hall of Famers Jeff Pillsbury (UMFK Athletic HOF 2009, '87), and Juan Hernandez (UMFK Athletic HOF 2010, '88)."

The Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony begins at 5 p.m. with a social followed by a banquet and awards ceremony. The public is encouraged to attend. Tickets for the banquet are $25 per person and may be purchased through the Alumni Affairs office, located at the Madawaska House. Deadline to purchase tickets is Friday, March 2.

For more information on the induction ceremony or tickets, please contact Susan Tardie at 207-834-7557 or by e-mail at: