This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.


December 9, 2011



(left to right) Christopher W. Pinkham, president of the Maine Bankers' Association, Scholarship Recipient Loren Marie Plourde, and UMFK President Wilson G. Hess

The trustees of the Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation (MeHEAF) are pleased to announce the awarding of a scholarship in the amount of $1,000 to Loren Marie Plourde of Eagle Lake. Loren is a business management major at the University of Maine at Fort Kent, where she maintains a high grade-point average.

Christopher W. Pinkham, president of the Maine Bankers Association, made the presentation to Plourde at a luncheon ceremony held at the UMFK's Nowland Hall with UMFK President Wilson G. Hess, members of UMFK's Professional Management Division faculty, administrators, local bankers, and Loren's parents, Edward and Sandra, and her sister, Becky, in attendance.

Participating schools select scholarship recipients who are in their second, third, or fourth year of study and who are Maine high school graduates majoring in a business-related subject. Recipients are chosen based upon academic standing. All scholarships are awarded for second semester expenses.

Loren is a graduate of Fort Kent Community High School.

The Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation was established in the 1950s as a guarantee fund for student loans. The founders included a wide range of banks, businesses, community organizations and individuals. In 1990, the MeHEAF trustees, to continue the original intent of the founding members, initiated a scholarship program funded by the return on the original loan guarantee funds. The fund now is managed by the Maine Bankers Association, located in Portland.

Since 1990, a total of $271,000 in scholarships has been awarded. Colleges receiving MeHEAF grants each year are: Husson University, one member of the Maine Community College System, St. Joseph's College, Thomas College, University of Maine at Augusta, University of Maine at Farmington, University of Maine at Fort Kent, University of Maine at Machias, University of Maine at Presque Isle, University of New England and University of Southern Maine.