This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Golf Scramble Results

August 6, 2007



(Left to right) UMFK President Dr. Richard Cost, Top Gross Winning Bee-Jay’s Tavern team members: Nelson Bouchard, Stacey Kelly, Kelley O’Leary and Jason Nadeau along with UMFK Athletic Director Bill Ashby.


Fourteen foursomes competed in the University of Maine at Fort Kent Golf Scramble at Fort Kent Golf Club on Saturday, August 4.  Twenty-four local, state and national sponsors made the event possible as golfers dodged some golf-ball-sized hail prior to the event, but still were able to start the 18-hole best ball event on time.

Prizes were awarded in a variety of categories and each golfer went home with a tournament t-shirt, golf balls and tees.  UMFK also raffled off items from its athletic department, a Buick golf hat and an Aramark seat cooler and bag in an awards ceremony following the tournament.

The top net score was achieved by Normand, Dianne and Jamie Doucette and Sean Theriault with a 48, while the Bee-Jay’s Tavern-sponsored team of Kelly O’Leary, Stacy Kelly, Jason Nadeau and Nelson Bouchard captured the top gross score with a 60.  All award winners were presented with a variety of UMFK memorabilia.

The longest drive award, measured on the 18th hole, was won by Lupita Albert in the women’s division and Phil Pelletier, Jr. on the men’s side.  The closest-to-the-pin prize on hole number 14 was taken home by Nelson Bouchard, while the “Most Honest Team” award (highest score of the day with a 91gross) went to the Aramark team captained by Jason Carter.  Carter’s group included three first-time golfers in James Lowe, Jules Bodo and Dave Guerra.  Mike Bouchard won the putting competition.

The 3rd net score was recorded by UMFK President Richard Cost, UMFK Nordic Ski Coach Roy Michaud and Lakeview Motor Sales Owners Jim and Mark Violette with a score of 55.  TD Banknorth team members Bert and Vickie Boucher and Bert and Kathy Roy took home the prize for 3rd gross with a 62.  The 2nd net winner, with a score of 52, was UMFK Men’s Basketball Coach Eric Werntgen’s team, which included Dan Bouchard and Glenn and Anthony Lamarr.  2nd gross winners with a 60 were Moe Collins, Greg McFarland, Red Mahan and Phil Pelletier, Jr., sponsored by Time Warner Cable.

UMFK and the Fort Kent Golf Club would like to thank the following sponsors for making this event possible:

Hole in One Sponsors

  • Thibodeau Insurance Agency - Fort Kent, ME ($25,000 hole)
  • Valley Auto - Fort Kent, ME (2007 Buick Lucerne)

2-Hole Sponsor

  • Northern Maine Medical Center – Fort Kent, ME

Tournament Sponsors

  • Aramark – UMFK
  • Bayless Tours – Old Town, ME
  • Bee-Jay’s Tavern – Fort Kent, ME
  • Channel X Radio – Caribou, ME
  • Daigle & Houghton, INC. – Fort Kent, ME
  • Daigle Oil Company – Fort Kent, ME
  • Darling’s – Bangor, ME
  • Desjardins’ Project Place – Fort Kent, ME
  • Gene’s Electronics, INC. – Fort Kent, ME
  • Lafayette Hotels – So. Portland, ME
  • Lakeview Motor Sales – Fort Kent, ME
  • Martin Ford – Fort Kent, ME
  • Nadeau’s House of Furniture – Fort Kent, ME
  • Nadeau Logging, INC. – Fort Kent, ME
  • NAPA-Roy Auto Parts – Fort Kent, ME
  • Paradis Family Shop ’n Save – Fort Kent, ME
  • Pelletier Florist – Fort Kent, ME
  • Quigley’s Building Supply – Fort Kent, ME
  • TD Banknorth – Fort Kent, ME
  • Time Warner Cable – Presque Isle, ME
  • Wight’s Sporting Goods – Bangor, ME