This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK to honor faculty and staff for dedicated years of service

April 30, 2003


The University of Maine at Fort Kent will honor members of its faculty and staff, who have reached milestones of service to the campus community, at a luncheon on Tuesday, May 11, at 11:00 a.m. in Nowland Hall.

Employees who have been at UMFK for thirty-five, thirty, twenty-five, twenty, fifteen, ten, and five years will be presented with special awards at the annual recognition event.

Campus President Richard Cost, will present the honors following touching and humorous tributes paid to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.

Being honored at the ceremony for thirty-five years of service is Naomi Nicolas, administrative assistant to the President.

Thirty-year service honorees include Peggie Bard, administrative assistant to the vice president for academic affairs; Michael Morneault, building and grounds maintenance worker; and Camille Theriault, building and grounds maintenance crew leader.

Fran Picard, administrative assistant for facilities management will be recognized for twenty-five years of service.

Twenty-year service awards will be presented to Annette Grant, administrative assistant in the registrar's office and to Benita Ouellette, personnel assistant in the human resources office.

Virginia Lausier, associate professor of French will be honored with a fifteen year service award and will also be recognized as UMFK's only retiree this year.

Ten-year service honorees include Kurt Holzhausen, associate professor of psychology, and Viola Pelletier cook II in the campus dining hall.

Five-year award recipients are Erin Soucy, nursing resource center manager; Jeffrey Dubis, assistant professor of forestry; Theresa Roode, building and grounds maintenance worker; Arthur Drolet, computer network specialist; and Nicki Ouellette, administrative assistant for information services.

Recognition will also be given to Aroostook County Retired and Senior Volunteer Program volunteers and other individuals who donate their time to the University in a number of capacities.