This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK to honor faculty and staff for dedicated years of service

April 29, 2005


The University of Maine at Fort Kent will honor members of its faculty and staff, who have reached milestones of service to the campus community, at a luncheon on Wednesday, May 11, at 11:00 a.m. in Nowland Hall.

Employees who have been at UMFK thirty, twenty-five, twenty, fifteen, ten and five years will be presented with special awards at the annual recognition event.

Recognition will also be given two retirees for their distinguished service to the university community.

UMFK President Richard Cost, will present the honors following touching and humorous tributes paid to honorees by fellow faculty and staff.

Thirty year service awards will be presented to Charles E. Closser, Jr., professor of oral communications and performing arts; Donald R. Raymond, registrar and director of institutional research; and Brenda Fournier-Plourde, administrative assistant in the admissions office.

Twenty-five year service honorees include Terry L. Murphy, professor of education; Jeanita M. Theriault, accounting coordinator; Darlene Martin, administrative assistant in student teaching; M. Lucy Beaulieu, bookstore floor supervisor; John L. Martin, assistant professor of political science and executive assistant to the president; Donald Michaud and Michael D. Dubois, building and grounds maintenance workers and Lena J. Corriveau, administrative assistant for student financial aid office

Linda M. Deprey, administrative assistant of special gifts and events will be recognized for twenty years of service.

Fifteen year service awards will be presented to Lisa M. Lavoie, administrative assistant in the natural and behavioral sciences department and Peter P. Cyr, minicomputer system coordinator.

Ten-year service honorees include Scott A. Voisine, director of student services; Stephanie J. Bresett, library assistant II and Lisa A. Fournier, administrative assistant in the administrative services office.

Five-year award recipients are Jean-Louis Michaud and Norma A. Jackson, building and grounds maintenance workers; Gilbert J. Albert and Marion Albert, assistant professors of education; Lisa A. Theriault, assistant professor of nursing; Kimberly Borges-Therien, assistant professor of environmental studies; Geraldine Robinson, administrative assistant in human resources; Lynn M. Tardif, records technician in the registrar's office; Stephanie A. Cote, assistant director of student programming and residential life; Eric W. Werntgen, assistant athletic director and head men's basketball coach; Louise M. Pelletier, administrative assistant for arts and humanities/education division and Donald K.Eno, coordinator of distance education and academic outreach.

Special honors for dedicated service will be presented to retirees, John Elliot, professor of mathematics for 26 years and Marcy Perreault, food server II, for 15 years. Elliot is currently retired and Perreault plans to retire this year.

A luncheon will be served at 11:00 a.m. following the service award presentations. All faculty, staff and guests are invited to attend.

Please R.S.V.P no later than May 2. Contact Gerry Robinson at the human relations office at 834-7844.