This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Nursing Honor Society Inducts Fifteen New Members

April 26, 2010



Standing from left to right in row 1: April Miller, Ashley Picard, Darsey Plourde, Andrea Cyr, Sara Mulvey, Chloe Conaway, and Amanda Daigle. Row 2, L to R: Tyler Stoliker, Susan Lucey, Deborah Daigle, Emily Daigle, Lee Bossie, Myrna Ridenour, Margaret Mahoney, and Antonio Mosquera.


Fifteen current University of Maine at Fort Kent students were inducted into the UMFK Nursing Honor Society at a special ceremony held on Thursday, April 22, 2010 in the Nadeau Hall teleconference room.

Officially welcomed into the nursing honor society were: Lee Bossie, a junior from New Canada; Chloe Conaway, a junior from Leeds, Maine; Andrea Cyr, a senior from Madawaska; Amanda Daigle, a senior from Wallagrass; Deborah L. Daigle, a junior from Madawaska; Emily Daigle, a senior from China, Maine; Susan Lucey, a senior from Bar Harbor; Antonio Mozquera, a senior from Fort Kent; April Miller, a senior from Houlton; Margaret Mahoney, a senior from Fort Kent; Sara Mulvey, a junior from Farmington, Maine; Darsey Plourde, a junior from New Sweden; Myrna Ridenour, a junior from Boston, Massachusetts; Ashley Picard, a senior from Jefferson, Maine and Tyler Stoliker, a junior from Madawaska.
All students have excelled in the four-year Bachelor of Science in nursing program at UMFK and are very active in campus activities. 
The UMFK Nursing Honor Society was formed in the spring of 1998 for the purpose of recognizing and fostering academic excellence and scholarship among students, alumni, and community leaders in nursing. 
Students with a grade point average of 3.0 or above, and who represent the attributes of scholarship as defined by Boyer (1990) and Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, were eligible for induction to the Honor Society.
In addition to the induction, the ceremony featured a keynote address by Lois C. Hamel, Ph.D, APRN, BC-Adult Nurse Practitioner Director, Distance Nursing Education from Saint Joseph's College of Maine.