This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Student Support Services Recognizes TRiO Students

April 18, 2011




The TRiO, Student Support Services Program, at the University of Maine at Fort Kent held its third annual recognition banquet to honor students, faculty, and staff involved in the TRiO program. UMFK President Wilson G. Hess provided the welcome address.

The following staff were honored for their dedication to students’ achievements and success: Director Lena Michaud, Secretary Tammy Connor; Student Success Coordinator Kate Fecinta; Counselor and Accessibility Coordinator Shawn Graham; and Academic Coordinator Angela Theriault; and Writing Specialist Aaron Tolbert.
TRiO Student Support Services is funded through the Department of Education under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and are referred to as the TRiO Programs because there were initially three programs. TRiO programs are designed to help low-income, first-generation, and/or disabled students, under the guidelines of the American with Disabilities Act, Americans enter college, graduate and move on to participate more fully in America's economic and social life.
The Student Support Services Program’s focus is to insure that their participants have a realistic chance to persist in school and graduate from the University of Maine at Fort Kent. To accomplish these objectives, they provide services to enhance students' academic success, personal skills, and social skills.
The banquet’s guest speaker was Bill Deering, an inspirational and motivational speaker who has dealt with a lifetime of stuttering.   His powerful message was heard by all to benefit and empower those who may be facing their own life challenges feeling isolated and unsupported.
The 2010 Student Support Services awards were given to the following students:
Leadership Awards: Casey Brown (Milo, Maine ); Sarah Englund (Caribou, Maine); Catherine Santos (Searsport, Maine); Oliver Silva (Winterville, Maine); and Stephanie Thomas (Stockton Springs, Maine) 
Most Successful Freshman Award: Oliver Silva (Winterville, Maine)
Honorable Mention: Sara Englund (Caribou, Maine) and Devvan Powers (Medway, Maine)
Most Successful Sophomore Award: Sierra Daigle (Madawaska, Maine)
Honorable Mention: Steve Pelletier (St. John Plantation, Maine) and Leah Brooks (Lisbon, Maine)
Most Successful Junior Award: Olena Yermak (Madawaska, Maine)
Honorable Mention: Kristy Morneault (Madawaska, Maine) and Blair Pelletier (St. John Plantation, Maine)
Most Successful Senior Award: Amanda Pelletier (Fort Kent, Maine)
Honorable Mention: John Forino (Eagle Lake, Maine) and Sean Greening (Fort Kent, Maine)
The awards recognize students for their successful transition to higher education and their proactive approach to academic achievement.
The following students were recognized for their exemplary participation and involvement with the Student Support Services program during the academic year:
Most Involved Participant Award: Heather Young (South Paris, Maine)
The following students were honored for their significant improvement to academic achievement; recognizing their increased efforts towards becoming a successful student.
Most Improved Participant Award: Stephanie Thomas (Stockton Springs, Maine) and Heather Young (South Paris, Maine)
The following students were recognized for their significant determination and persistence towards academic achievement and attaining their academic goals:
Outstanding Persistence Award: Sarah Englund (Caribou, Maine); Katina Jandreau (Fort Kent Mills, Maine); Kate Laliberte (Mount Vernon, Maine); Jimmy Lopez (Fitchburg, Massachusetts); Andrew Pelletier (Fort Kent, Maine); Lisa Sutton (Mars Hill, Maine); Stephanie Thomas (Stockton Springs, Maine); Olena Yermak (Madawaska, Maine) and
Heather Young (South Paris, Maine) 
Student of the Year Award: Ashley Morneault (Saco, Maine)
Ashley has shown exemplary participation in the Student Support Services program as well as on- and off- campus involvement. She is the leader of the TRiO after-school mentoring program, the treasurer of the Student Senate, Student Teacher Educational Professional Society (STEPS) member. Ashley volunteers in a classroom at the local elementary school for a few hours each week, she is working on a special education certification and works two part-time jobs. She has shown skills in leadership, teambuilding, communication, as well as persistence towards her academic goals and success as a student.
The following TRiO students will graduate in May, were recognized and presented with cords, which they can wear at graduation. The graduates-to-be who were honored include: Patrick Aldrich*(Springfield, Maine); Krystal Bonti (Sanford, Maine); Lee Bossie (Fort Kent, Maine); Emily Burnett (Bowling Green, Kentucy); Natalie Adams- Collin (Wallagrass, Maine); Tony Collin*( Madawaska, Maine); Dean Cote (Fort Kent, Maine); Denise Cummings (Fairfield Maine); John Forino (Eagle Lake, Maine); Amber Garrison (Oroville, California); Steven Guimond (St. Agatha, Maine); Ashley Hafford (Fort Kent, Maine); Cindy Hafford (Allagash, Maine); Jonathan Hayes ( St. Agatha, Maine); Lori Jordan (Sinclair, Maine); Nathan Knight (Monson, Maine); Jimmy Lopez (Fitchburg, Massachusetts); Catherine Melton (Kenduskeag, Maine); Lois Michaud (Grand Isle, Maine); Nicole Moss(Caribou, Maine); Loni Nadeau (Fort Kent, Maine); Heather Ouellette (Fort Kent, Maine); Clifford Pelletier*(Fort Kent, Maine); Ian Robertson (Presque Isle, Maine); Laura Tardif (Caribou, Maine); Jean Voisine (Fort Kent, Maine); and Lana Voisine (Fort Kent Mills, Maine). *associate degree candidates
In addition to TRiO students receiving awards, the following UMFK faculty or staff were nominated by TRiO students and recognized as having done an outstanding job in supporting their education at UMFK: Jackie Devoe, assistant professor of nursing in maternal and child health; Dave Hobbins, professor of forestry and environmental studies; Diane Gagne, administrative assistant for the nursing division; Dr. Doris Metz, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Joyce Plourde, records technician for the business office; Debbie Pringnitz, professor of biology; Theresa Roode, building and grounds maintenance worker; Lisa Roy, administrative assistant for student affairs office; Dr. Roger Roy, associate professor of mathematics and business; Leo Trudel, assistant professor of business; and Diana White, assistant professor of nursing.
Aaron Tolbert shared an inspirational reading to add to the tone for the evening ceremony and Dr. Rachel E. Albert, UMFK vice president of academic affairs, brought a close to the banquet with her inspiring words for support and wisdom.
TRiO is a nationwide, federally-funded organization committed to providing educational opportunity for all Americans regardless of race, ethnic background, or economic circumstance.