This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

UMFK Nursing Honor Society Inducts Thirteen New Members

April 13, 2009


Eleven current University of Maine at Fort Kent students and two community leaders will be inducted into the UMFK Nursing Honor Society at a special ceremony on Wednesday, April 22, at 4 p.m. in the Nadeau Hall teleconference room on the University campus.  

Officially welcomed into the nursing honor society will be: Ciaron Baker, a senior from Creston South, Newfoundland, Canada; Trisha Caron, a senior from Fort Kent; Heather Curran, a senior from Grand Isle; Kylie Daigle, a senior from Madawaska; Sarah Dubay, a senior from Fort Kent; Danielle Dubois, a senior from Fort Kent; Lana Helgeson, a junior from St. David; Katherine James, a senior from Millinocket; Bonnie Morris-Hardman, a RN senior; Isabelle Markley, a RN junior; Randi St. Peter, a junior from Cross Lake; Parise Dubay, RN, BSN from M.S.A.D. #27 School Nurse; and Christine Gray, RN, MSN from Cary Medical Center. 

All students have excelled in the four-year Bachelor of Science in nursing program at UMFK and are very active in campus activities.   

The UMFK Nursing Honor Society was formed in the spring of 1998 for the purpose of recognizing and fostering academic excellence and scholarship among students, alumni, and community leaders in nursing.   

Students with a grade point average of 3.0 or above, and who represent the attributes of scholarship as defined by Boyer (1990) and Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, are eligible for induction to the Honor Society. 

In addition to the induction, the ceremony will feature a keynote address by Christine Gary, RN, MSN with Cary Medical Center.

For more information on the UMFK Nursing Honor Society induction ceremony, contact Diane Gagne at 834-7580.