This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Nine students to be inducted in UMFK nursing honor society

April 13, 2007


Nine current University of Maine at Fort Kent students will be inducted into the UMFK Nursing Honor Society at a special ceremony on Thursday April 26, at 5:30 p.m. in Nadeau Hall Teleconference Room on the University campus.

Students with a grade point average of 3.0 or above, and who represent the attributes of scholarship as defined Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, are eligible for induction to the Honor Society.

Officially welcomed into the nursing honor society will be: Peggy Piette an RN, BSN senior from Littleton, New Hampshire; Sherrie Clavette, a senior from Frenchville; Johan Langley, a senior from Presque Isle, Maine; Donna Picard, a senior from Frenchville; Wendy Sirois, a senior from Madawaska; Karla Sullivan, a senior from Aroostook, New Brunswick, Canada; Karen Horner, a junior from St. Agatha; Sky Snook, a junior from St. Francois, New Brunswick, Canada and Paula Bacon, a junior from Easton, Maine.

All students have excelled in the four-year bachelor of science in nursing program at UMFK and are very active in campus activities.

The UMFK Nursing Honor Society was formed in the spring of 1998 for the purpose of recognizing and fostering academic excellence and scholarship among nursing students, alumni, and community leaders.

The Honor Society holds two scholarly events each year in an effort to promote nursing scholarship in the St. John Valley and Aroostook County. Participation in the scholarly activities is not limited to members of the honor society.

For more information on the UMFK Nursing Honor Society induction ceremony, contact Diane Gagne at 834-7580.