This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.
skip to content

Latest News

Enrollment & Advancement Center • University of Maine at Fort Kent • 23 University Drive, Fort Kent, ME 04743

UMFK Student Support Services Recognized TRIO Students

April 25, 2017

Note: this is an archived news release. As such, the information provided may no longer apply.

Odean Irons
Odean Irons, this year’s TRIO Student of the Year, along with UMFK Student Support Services Director Lena Michaud at the annual recognition banquet.  Irons was presented with a certificate and trophy.

University of Maine at Fort Kent and the TRIO Student Support Services program held their ninth annual recognition banquet on April 18, to honor students involved in the TRIO program. UMFK President Dr. John N. Short provided the welcome address.

The banquet’s keynote speaker was Dave Hobbins, UMFK professor of forestry and environmental studies.  Professor Hobbins began teaching at UMFK in 1986. His areas of teaching are forestry protection, forest inventory, and mapping and geospatial technologies. Professor Hobbins always goes above and beyond for all students and knows the importance of the TRIO program at UMFK.

The following TRIO students were recognized for their individual support and student work as a peer tutor, note takers, or as complimentary instruction leaders.  Brittney Beaulieu (St. David, ME); Samantha Beaulieu (Wallagrass, ME); Samuel Brumer (Lake Park, FL); Odean Irons (Fort Kent); Brooke Lilley (Oakfield, ME); Nicole MacDougall (Hampden, ME); and Shannon Morneault (Eagle Lake, ME). Each student was presented a certificate.

The 2017 Student Support Services awards were given to the following students: These awards recognize students for their successful transition to higher education and their proactive approach to academic achievement.

Most Successful Freshman Award: Ariel Jeffers (Eagle Lake, ME)

Honorable Mention: Jenacie Klinger (Brighton, CO); Hateya Levesque (Sumner, ME); and Amanda Trhlin (Madawaska, ME).

Most Successful Sophomore Award: Katelyn Roy (Fort Kent, ME)

Honorable Mention: Steffany Caron (Fort Kent, ME); Brittnie Hodsdon (Connor Township, ME); and Olivia Marston (East Millinocket, ME).

Most Successful Junior Award: Odean Irons (Fort Kent)

Honorable Mention:  Jessica Baldwin (Presque Isle, ME); Kaylee Doody (Washburn, ME); Ahkeim Forbes (Kingston, Jamaica); and Max Jandreau (Fort Kent, ME)

Most Successful Senior Award: Courtney Bubier (Jay, ME)

Honorable Mention:  Isabella Arguetta (Ellsworth, ME); Samuel Brumer (Lake Park, FL); Sterlin Jourdain (Washington, DC); Sarah Locke (San Jose, CA); and Adriarna Ross (Peru, ME).

Max Jandreau (Fort Kent, ME) was recognized for his exemplary participation and involvement with the Student Support Services program during the academic year.

The following students were honored for their significant improvement to academic achievement and recognizing their increased efforts towards becoming a successful student: Brittney DeRoche (Peru, ME); Chelsea Frey (West Paris, ME); and Adriarna Ross (Peru, ME).

The following students were recognized for their significant determination and persistence towards academic achievement and attaining their academic goals: Shane Averill (Lakeville, ME); Samantha Beaulieu (Wallagrass); Ahkeim Forbes (Kingston, Jamaica); Max Jandreau  (Fort Kent, ME); Habiba Mohamed (Lewiston, ME).

The following students were recognized for their outstanding motivation. They have the drive and willpower to overcome any obstacles they might encounter to do well and achieve their academic goals: Emmanuella Anyika (Nigera); Cecilia Efuetlacha (Coppell, TX); Njukam Loveline (Killeen, TX); France McDermott (Madawaska, ME); Jade Nadeau (Fort Kent, ME): Felicia Mensah (Tampa, FL); and Mary Trudeau (Warri Delta State, Nigeria).

This TRIO student was recognized for his exemplary participation in the Student Support

Services program, as well as on-and off-campus involvement, has shown skills in leadership, team building, communication, as well as persistence towards his academic goals and success as a student. Odean Irons was named the 2017 TRIO Student of the Year.

Odean Irons, a student from Montego Bay, Jamaica, enrolled at UMFK in 2012. As noted from his essay, he learned that nothing is handed to you and one needs to work hard for anything. Through his years at UMFK, he has been playing for the UMFK Bengal Men’s Soccer Team, in which the team received two USCAA National Championships. Odean is enrolled in the behavioral science program and has made the Dean’s List every semester. He also was awarded TRIO’s Most Successful Junior Award.

Odean works on campus as a career services administrative aid and also is employed at Northern Maine General in Eagle Lake, Maine. He volunteers at the CHIPPY center, where his children attend.  In his free time, he enjoys taking part in community activities, such as visiting the local schools and UMFK’s summer soccer camps. 

Twenty-six TRIO students were awarded a TRIO scholarship this year. 

The following TRIO students were recognized and presented with their Student Support Services cords, which they will wear at graduation.  The graduates-to-be include: Isabella Arguetta (Guatemala); Olivia Bouchard (Greenville, ME); Neon Brown (Maggoty, Jamaica); Samuel Brumer (Lake Park, FL); Samantha Carapellucci (Fort Kent, ME); Alexis Desjardins (Fort Kent, ME); Kimberly Dionne (St. David, ME); Logan Dow (Sangerville, ME); Heidi Farley (Washburn, ME); Chelsea Frey (West Paris, ME); Fabiola Gutierrez (Lindsay, CA); Sterlin Jourdain (Washington, DC); Magela Laurore (Lake Park, FL); Lindsey Lavoie (Madawaska, ME); Alex McNally (Madawaska, ME); Zachary Ouellette (Fort Kent, ME); Kayla Pendleton (Searsmont, ME): Megan Perry (Etna, ME); Cole Porter (Sherman, ME); Deanna Raye (Pembroke, ME); Jennifer Dyke (Lyme, NH); Chelsea Sadler (Fort Kent, ME); Heather Sherman (Mapleton, ME); Mequeline Smith (Washington, DC); Garik Theriault (Hamlin, ME); Mary Trudeau (Warri Delta State, Nigeria ); and Stacy Verrell (East Waterboro, ME).

UMFK Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Steven Gammon closed the evening’s ceremony.

TRIO Student Support Services is funded through the Department of Education under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and are referred to as the TRIO Programs because there were initially three programs.  TRIO programs are designed to help low-income, first-generation, and/or disabled students, under the guidelines of the American with Disabilities Act, Americans enter college, graduate and move on to participate more fully in America's economic and social life.

The Student Support Services Program’s focus is to insure that their participants have a realistic chance to persist in school and graduate from UMFK. To accomplish these objectives, they provide services to enhance students' academic success, personal skills, and social skills.

TRIO is a nationwide, federally-funded organization committed to providing educational opportunity for all Americans regardless of race, ethnic background, or economic circumstance.