This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.
skip to content

Latest News

Enrollment & Advancement Center • University of Maine at Fort Kent • 23 University Drive, Fort Kent, ME 04743

UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Scheduled for March 21

February 26, 2015

Note: this is an archived news release. As such, the information provided may no longer apply.


In what has become one of the premier events of the year, with hundreds of friends, teammates, professional colleagues, politicians, and dignitaries joining enthusiastic members of the St. John Valley community, the University of Maine at Fort Kent will host its eighth annual Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Ceremony on Saturday, March 21 in the University's Sports Center.

The inductees of the Class of 2015 are a distinguished group consisting of the Darryl Peary ('67); John Murphy ('75); Michael Hart ('89); and Whitney Sinclair ('14).

This year's ceremony also will recognize the Floyd “Red” Powell Award recipient, Dr. R. Paul Johnson. The UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame Committee presents the award annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development and/or enhancement of the University's athletics.

The hall of fame induction ceremony begins at 5 p.m. with a social followed by a banquet and awards ceremony. Tickets for the banquet are $30 per person and may be purchased through the UMFK Alumni Affairs office, which is located at the Madawaska House. Please contact Susan Tardie at (207) 834-7557 or by e-mail at:


Darryl Peary

Peary played for Coach Lowell “Ozzie” Osgood (HOF '08) and was a four-year starter in basketball and soccer. He was the first-ever goalkeeper for the Bengal soccer team in 1963. A 1967 graduate of the (then) Fort Kent State Teachers College, he also was a 1,000-point scorer in basketball, twice named Most Valuable Player, and team captain. Peary has had a distinguished career as a longtime high school teacher and athletic director. He coached soccer, baseball, basketball, and track.


John Murphy

Murphy was a former student athlete who played soccer at UMFK for three years in the early '70s. He has been UMFK's vice president of administration since 1993. Murphy also has served UMFK as dean of students, director of financial aid, dean of enrollment services, and athletic director. In 2006, Murphy was selected as the 2006 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Athletic Director of the Year for the Sunrise Athletic Conference. He served the community of Fort Kent in areas of law enforcement and as a coach of soccer, hockey, and baseball.


photo of Michael Hart, 2015 Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee

Michael Hart

Hart played an integral part in UMFK men's basketball 1987 Northeast Conference Championship. He was selected to 1988 NAIA District 5 All-Conference Team. Following his basketball career, Hart had a successful basketball coaching career at St. Andrew's School in Barrington, Rhode Island. Coach Hart's team has posted over 400 wins, won 6 New England Prep School Championships and has been to 15 Final Fours in his 21 years. Several of Hart's student athletes have gone on to play professionally in the NBA and internationally.


Whitney Sinclair

Sinclair led her Bengal soccer teams in back-to-back United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) National Championships in 2010 and 2011. A three-time Sunrise Conference Player of the Year. She led the NAIA and USCAA in scoring all four of her playing seasons. Sinclair was a two-time USCAA All-American 1st team selection and USCAA National Tournament Most Valuable Player in 2010.

For more information, contact the UMFK Alumni Affairs office or visit the UMFK website at:

The UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2008 to recognize the men and women who have distinguished themselves in athletic competition, in the classroom, after graduation, or by their meritorious service on behalf of UMFK athletics.