This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.
skip to content

Latest News

Enrollment & Advancement Center • University of Maine at Fort Kent • 23 University Drive, Fort Kent, ME 04743

UMFK Student Support Services Recognizes TRIO Students

April 28, 2014

Note: this is an archived news release. As such, the information provided may no longer apply.




The TRIO, Student Support Services Program, at the University of Maine at Fort Kent held its sixth annual recognition banquet on April 17, to honor students involved in the TRIO program. UMFK President Wilson G. Hess provided the welcome address.

TRIO Student Support Services is funded through the Department of Education under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and are referred to as the TRIO Programs because there were initially three programs. TRIO programs are designed to help low-income, first-generation, and/or disabled students, under the guidelines of the American with Disabilities Act, Americans enter college, graduate and move on to participate more fully in America's economic and social life.

The Student Support Services Program's focus is to insure that their participants have a realistic chance to persist in school and graduate from UMFK. To accomplish these objectives, they provide services to enhance students' academic success, personal skills, and social skills.

The banquet's keynote speaker was Sean C. Paulhus. Paulhus works in the Maine State Senate as Aide to the Secretary of the Senate. He graduated from Marietta College in Ohio with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and was an active member of the Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity. Paulhus attended the Upward Bound Program at Bowdoin College in 2002 and 2003. He also serves on the Bath City Council since 2008.

The 2014 Student Support Services awards were given to the following students:

Leadership Award: Kapricemari Tompkins (Woodville, ME)

Most Successful Freshman Award: Courtney Bubier (Jay, ME)

Honorable Mention: Nasteho Issa (Lewiston, ME) and Abdi Hussein (Lewiston, ME)

Most Successful Sophomore Award: Brian Dougeneck (Athens,ME)

Honorable Mention: Kathryn Sharp (Gray, ME) and Kayla Michaud (Madawaska, ME)

Most Successful Junior Award: Sarah Paradis (Frenchville, ME)

Honorable Mention: Amanda Nadeau (Madawaska, ME); Taylor Pelletier (Fort Kent, ME); Ivon Portellez (Miami, Florida) and Chantel Bernier (Frenchville, ME)

Most Successful Senior Award: Krystal Paradis (Frenchville)

Honorable Mention: Moriah Robinson (Bangor, ME); Sierra Daigle (Madawaska); and Devvan Powers (Old Town, ME)

The awards recognize students for their successful transition to higher education and their proactive approach to academic achievement.

The following student was recognized for her exemplary participation and involvement with the Student Support Services program during the academic year:

Most Involved Participant Award: Moriah Robinson

The following students were honored for their significant improvement to academic achievement; recognizing their increased efforts towards becoming a successful student.

Most Improved Participant Awards: Habiba Mohamed (Lewiston) and Malachi Hayden (Bangor)

The following students were recognized for their significant determination and persistence towards academic achievement and attaining their academic goals:

Outstanding Persistence Award: Chelsea Frey (Weld); Travis Stuard (Welton, ME); Sarah Englund (Caribou, ME); and Kate Laliberte (Mount Vernon, ME)

TRiO Helping TRiO Recognition: Chantel Bernier; Joseph Belanger (Springvale, ME); Brian Dougeneck (Athens); Malachi Hayden (Bangor); Amanda Nadeau (Madawaska); Travis Norsworthy (Fort Fairfield, ME); Ivon Portellez; and Taylor Pelletier

The following student was recognized for her exemplary participation in the Student Support

Services program, as well as on-and off-campus involvement, has shown skills in leadership, teambuilding, communication, as well as persistence towards her academic goals and success as a student.

Student of the Year Award: Heather Favreau (South Paris, ME)

Heather is a senior nursing student, who will graduate this May earning a bachelor of science degree. She came to UMFK in 2008 and has been active in the TRIO Program. Heather also is active in it Leadership Group and was a co-leader for its After-school Mentoring Program She is actively involved in Kappa Rho NAS. Heather is the 2014 senior class president.

“Heather has clearly demonstrated a commitment to reaching her academic and career goals,” stated Lena Michaud, director of the Student Support Services.

The following TRIO students will graduate in May, who were recognized and presented with their Student Support Services cords, which they will wear at graduation. The graduates-to-be include: Tena Austin (Mariaville, ME); Whitney Babin (Fort Kent); Yoshives Belizare (Mattapan, MA); Crystal Berube (Madawaska); Monique Bosse (Saint Jacques, New Brunswick, Canada); Emily Cassidy (Naples, ME) ; Sierra Daigle; Kayla Davenport (Fort Kent); Dalanie Dow (Chester, ME); April Dudley (Otisfield, ME); Megan Duprey (Van Buren, ME); Heather Favreau; Amy Guerrette (Frenchville); Abraham Haile (Portland, ME); Kate Laliberte (Mount Vernon, ME); Erica Ouellette; Jerome Ouellette (Fort Kent); Morgan Pelletier( St. John Plantation, ME); Brandon Plourde (Fort Kent) ; Devvan Powers; Moriah Robinson; Jenna Roy (Fort Kent); Whitney Sinclair (Dexter, ME) ; Lucy Soucy (Van Buren, ME); Hollie-Anne Stanwood (Ellsworth, ME); Kapricemari Tompkins; Joshua Whalen (Exeter, ME); and Olena Yermack (Madawaska, ME)

Mark Kelly, Student Support Services writing specialist, shared a motivational story to add to the tone for the evening ceremony.

UMFK Vice President Robert M. Dixon closed the evening's ceremony with his inspirational words of wisdom.

TRiO is a nationwide, federally-funded organization committed to providing educational opportunity for all Americans regardless of race, ethnic background, or economic circumstance.