This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Human Resources

Holiday Schedule: Fiscal Year 2017

HOLIDAYS DAY/DATE DAY/DATE ALLOWED**
2016
Independence Day* Monday, July 4 Monday, July 4
Labor Day* Monday, September 5 Monday, September 5
Columbus Day Monday, October 10 Monday, October 10
Veteran's Day Friday, November 11 Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day* Thursday, November 24 Thursday, November 24
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 25 Friday, November 25
Christmas Day* Sunday, December 25 Monday, December 26
2017
New Year's Day* Sunday, January 1 Monday, January 2
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16 Monday, January 16
President's Day Monday, February 20 Monday, February 20
Patriot's Day Monday, April 17 Monday, April 17
Memorial Day* Monday, May 29 Monday, May 29

For planning purposes please note the following important religious holidays:

  • Eid al Fitr* - July 7-9, 2016 (Islam)
  • Eid al Adha* - September 11-14, 2016 (Islam)
  • Rosh Hashanah* - October 3-4, 2016 (Jewish)
  • Yom Kippur* - October 12, 2016 (Jewish)
  • Diwali – Deepavali** - October 30, 2016 (Hindu-Sikh-Jain)
  • Good Friday – April 14, 2017 (Christian)
  • Ramadan begins* - May 27, 2017 (Islam)
  • Eid al Fitr* - June 26-28, 2017 (Islam)

*Premium holiday pay; refer to collective bargaining agreements or employee handbooks.
**Employees represented by collective bargaining agents will be governed by the provisions of their collective bargaining agreements.

It is important to remember that our faculty, staff, and students are from varied religious and cultural backgrounds which serve to enrich and strengthen our community. Any event scheduled on a major religious or cultural holiday can send a message of insensitivity or exclusivity to staff and students who cannot participate that day due to their religious beliefs. Therefore, please remind staff to avoid scheduling important meetings, exams, or other essential events on such dates whenever possible and to accommodate the observance of religious traditions for those staff and students who need to be absent for religious holidays throughout the year.