This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Human Resources

Holiday Schedule: Fiscal Year 2019

HOLIDAYS DAY/DATE DAY/DATE ALLOWED**
2018
Independence Day* Wednesday, July 4 Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day* Monday, September 3 Monday, September 3
Columbus Day Monday, October 8 Monday, October 8
Veteran's Day Sunday, November 11 Monday, November 12
Thanksgiving Day* Thursday, November 22 Thursday, November 22
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 23 Friday, November 23
Christmas Day* Tuesday, December 25 Tuesday, December 25
2019
New Year's Day* Tuesday, January 1 Tuesday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 21 Monday, January 21
Presidents' Day Monday, February 18 Monday, February 18
Patriot's Day Monday, April 15 Monday, April 15
Memorial Day* Monday, May 27 Monday, May 27

For planning purposes please note the following important religious holidays:

  • Eid al Adha* - August 20-21, 2018 (Islam)
  • Rosh Hashanah* - September 9-11, 2018 (sundown) (Jewish)
  • Yom Kippur* - September 18-19, 2018 (Jewish)
  • Diwali – Deepavali** - November 7, 2018 (Hindu-Sikh-Jain)
  • Good Friday – April 19, 2019 (Christian)
  • Ramadan begins* - May 5, 2019 (Islam)
  • Eid al Fitr* - June 4-5, 2019 (Islam)

*Premium holiday pay; refer to collective bargaining agreements or employee handbooks.
**Employees represented by collective bargaining agents will be governed by the provisions of their collective bargaining agreements.

It is important to remember that our faculty, staff, and students are from varied religious and cultural backgrounds which serve to enrich and strengthen our community. Any event scheduled on a major religious or cultural holiday can send a message of insensitivity or exclusivity to staff and students who cannot participate that day due to their religious beliefs. Therefore, please remind staff to avoid scheduling important meetings, exams, or other essential events on such dates whenever possible and to accommodate the observance of religious traditions for those staff and students who need to be absent for religious holidays throughout the year.