This site uses javascript to implement some of its functionality. Please enable javascript in your web browser to ensure full functionality is available.

Student Learning Outcomes

The 11 program proficiencies are essential to the integration of our conceptual framework into our programs. The proficiencies illustrate the skills, knowledge base and dispositions that pre-service teachers should have when they enter the profession.

  1. Proficiency Standard #1: Learner Development
    The teacher understands how students learn and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.
  2. Proficiency Standard # 2: Learner Differences
    The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that allow each learner to reach his/her full potential.
  3. Proficiency Standard # 3: Learning Environments
    The teacher works with learners to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, encouraging positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.
  4. Proficiency Standard #4: Content Knowledge
    The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners.
  5. Proficiency Standard #5: Innovative Applications of Content
    The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical/creative thinking and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.
  6. Proficiency Standard #6: Assessment
    The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to document learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s on-going planning and instruction.
  7. Proficiency Standard # 7: Planning for Instruction
    The teacher draws upon knowledge of content areas, cross-disciplinary skills, learners, the community, and pedagogy to plan instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals.
  8. Proficiency Standard #8: Instructional Strategies
    The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to access and appropriately apply information.
  9. Proficiency Standard # 9: Reflection and Continuous Growth
    The teacher is a reflective practitioner who uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (students, families, and other professionals in the learning community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.   
  10. Proficiency Standard # 10: Collaboration
    The teacher seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for student learning, to collaborate with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.
  11. Proficiency Standard # 11: Technology Standards for Teachers - (NETS.T)
    Effective teachers model and apply the National Educational Technology Standards for Students (NETS•S) as they design, implement, and assess learning experiences to engage students and improve learning; enrich professional practice; and provide positive models for students, colleagues, and the community. All teachers will meet the following standards and performance indicators.