Madawaska House • University of Maine at Fort Kent • 23 University Drive, Fort Kent, ME 04743
 Email Us (207) 834-7800

2018 Distinguished Service Award Recipient

View Past Recipients

Distinguished Service Award Recipient Gregory P. Disy

Gregory P. Disy 2018 Distinguished Service Award honoree at Commencement CeremonyGregory P. Disy, LCSW, serves as Aroostook Mental Health Services, Inc.’s Chief Executive Officer where he ensures the achievement of the organization’s service mission in conformance with AMHC’s vision, values, and policies established by the Board of Directors and Senior Leadership Team. Mr. Disy is an independently licensed clinical social worker in the State of Maine and received his Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Maine at Orono. He is an active member of the Alliance for Addiction and Mental Health Services (AAMHS) and is serving as its current Treasurer. Mr. Disy is an active member and current President of Integrated Service Solutions of Maine and serves as the organization’s lead to their Information Technology Collaborative. Additionally, Mr. Disy is the organization’s representative to the Mental Health Corporations of America (MHCA). He is also a member of a Peer Collaboration Team comprised of him and three other CEO colleagues from across the country. Mr. Disy is a current member of the Board of Directors for the Mental Health Risk Retention Group (MHRRG) specializing in providing liability and malpractice insurance for the behavioral health field.  Mr. Disy has been employed by Aroostook Mental Health Services, Inc. since 1980 and prior to assuming his position as CEO in 2009, he was the organization’s Chief Operations Officer.

AMHC serves Aroostook, Hancock, and Washington Counties. AMHC opened its doors in 1964 with a staff of four employees and served 300 customers. At that time there were no local resources available to provide care for individuals with mental illnesses and people either went without services or went to Bangor to what was then the Bangor State Hospital or Utterbachs Hospital to receive their mental health care. It was out of this serious need to provide a local response in support of individuals with mental illness that AMHC was born. Bob Vickers became the Executive Director in 1970 and he created the initial vision for the organization to become the full service comprehensive community mental health center that it is today.

Over the past 50 years, AMHC has evolved into a comprehensive, community-based organization offering a continuum of crisis, residential, outpatient behavioral health, and rehabilitation services intended to improve the mental health and welfare of the community as a whole. In 2014, AMHC served 7,653 customers with a staff of more than 300.