skip to content

About UMFK

University of Maine at Fort Kent • 23 University Drive, Fort Kent, ME 04743
 Email Us (207) 834-7500

Presidential Search

The UMFK president is elected by the Board of Trustees on the nomination of the Chancellor and serves at the pleasure of the Board. The Board consists of 16 members, 15 of whom are appointed by the Governor and approved by the Maine Legislature. The Maine Commissioner of Education serves as a member ex officio. Members are appointed to a five-year term and may be reappointed once. A student member of the Board is appointed to a single two-year term.

Reporting directly to the Chancellor of the University of Maine System, Dannel Malloy, the UMFK president serves as the executive officer, provost, and chief academic leader of UMFK, overseeing all aspects of operations within the approved mission and implementing the policies and procedures set forth by the Chancellor and the Board of Trustees. The president is charged with a set of traditional responsibilities enumerated here by the Board. The president will advance UMFK’s principal mission of excellence in teaching, research, and service; strategic planning; budgeting; philanthropy; faculty and staff development; outreach; and alumni and community relations.